Three Things + Sausage and Bow Tie Soup

Hello everyone!

Here are some things that are rattling around my brain, compiled into groups of three.

Three Netflix Instant Recommendations:

The Artist
A few weeks ago I was home alone, nursing a mild headache, and bored. This silent black and white movie seemed like a nice and calm answer to my situation. I loved it — and not just because it’s Oscar winning, and I would feel uncultured if I said otherwise.

Ben Bailey: Road Rage and Accidental Ornithology
This stand-up show made me laugh so hard that my abs were sore.  The comedian is from Cash Cab and has some hilarious stories from his job as host.

Sherlock Series 1 and 2
Oh my goodness. There are only six episodes total in these seasons, but David and I couldn’t help but finish them all in a few days. The episodes are basically mini movies that sweep you along quickly, are packed full of crazy clever Sherlock deductions, and some of the best cinematic representations of texting I’ve ever seen. Maybe that’s a weird thing to love, but it impressed me.

sherlockSource

Three funny Google searches that led to my blog:

spilled water on stove control board
I feel your pain.  I’m sorry that the person who googled this ended up here, but didn’t get any answers.  Just another sad story of water spilling on a stove.

kirkland ice cream tastes terrible
Why was this googled? I’m picturing someone with a carton of ice cream in their hands, a disgusted look on their face, and a need to find out if other people agree that their ice cream tastes terrible.

how much time do you need to really enjoy ireland
A long time…there’s a lot to see!

Three snippets from my personality profile from work:

“You tend to be restrained and reticent in showing emotions.”
Um, yes there’s probably a reason I am lovingly teased for being unreadable.

“You require significant amount of time to adjust to change.”
I actually didn’t think this one was very true.  I asked David, and he widened his eyes, nodded his head slowly up and down telling me yes, the statement was very true. It gave me a good laugh.

“May be perceived by some as slow to make decisions.”
Yes! Sometimes I frustrate myself with my own slow decision making.

Three lines from The Beatles’s Come Together that weirded me out today:

        • He got joo joo eyeballs
        • He got toe jam football
        • He one spinal cracker

Seriously, how did I not notice how weird this song was before today? Does anyone know what joo joo eyeballs are?

Three soup recipes to make this month:

Baked Potato Soup
I need to make this soup again.  It’s a huge household favorite.

Cheesy Green Chile and Potato Chowder
I haven’t made this yet, but it looks perfectly creamy and cheesy, with a little spice.

Sausage and Bow Tie Soup

This is a very simple soup recipe, adaptable to whatever vegetable you feel like adding. I opted for frozen peas. Also, use whatever small pasta you think is cutest. I love tiny bow-tie mini Farfalle.

I’m realizing now that this is a lot like Zuppa Toscana, without potato so the base is less starchy — just a new light and creamy broth. If the sausage is very spicy, you could use less Italian seasoning.

I used a couple frozen ice cubes of heavy cream. I had cream left over after making frozen custard.  Poured into ice cube tray, then transferred to a zip-loc bag when frozen — worked great!

Sausage and Bow Tie Soup
Adapted from Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice

Ingredients
1/2 lb. spicy Italian sausage
1/2 onion, diced
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic
Salt and pepper
1 T chicken bullion
4 cups water
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1 1/2 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup small pasta (I used Mini Farfalle)
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup heavy cream + 1/4 cup milk (or any combo you want of milk and cream)

Brown sausage in medium saucepan, then set aside.

Add onions and olive oil to large soup pot saute until soft and translucent.  Add minced garlic, salt, and pepper, and sautee a few minutes.

Add chicken bullion, water, peas, and Italian seasoning.  Bring to a boil, then add pasta.  Simmer uncovered on medium-high heat for about 10 minutes, until pasta and peas are cooked.

Add cream, milk, and Parmesan cheese.  Simmer 5 more minutes.

Thanks, have a great week!

Tell me three things from your brain!

6 thoughts on “Three Things + Sausage and Bow Tie Soup

  1. 1. I never knew pneumonia took so long to get over (Rachel’s been sick for about 12 days now).
    2. I love working on Christmas letters and pictures, but they take a huge amount of time.
    3. I will never get tired of 50 degree weather in December.
    And no, I don’t know what joo joo eyeballs are. Joo joo nostrils, sure, but not eyeballs.

  2. Why does chili and cinnamon rolls go together?
    Is it okay to skip the office Christmas party? I really don’t want to go!
    I don’t like that my favorite TV shows now have mid-season finales and go into reruns for 2 months.

    • Magic.
      I say you can skip. Make it up to your co-workers by bringing cookies sometime.
      If you don’t have Netflix, you can usually sign up for a trial month free and find lots of good shows to watch!

  3. Pingback: Three Things + Taco Dip | In The Mixing Bowl

  4. Pingback: Three Things: October Edition | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

