Gingerbread Pancakes

Dessert for breakfast – Christmas edition!

I decided last week that I wanted to make gingerbread before Christmas.  I knew my first step was to buy molasses for an authentic gingerbread taste.  Molasses — onto my grocery list and into my shopping cart.  I was so happy to see the cute bottle it came in.  Such a distinguished rabbit.
IMG_1915

When I got home, I decided to make my gingerbread in pancake form.  I grabbed Brer Rabbit from the pantry, opened up the bottle, and took a big whiff.

Ohmygoodness, it smells bad.  I knew that molasses was necessary, but how could something that smells like that ever taste right? I tried to get David to smell it too, but I think I presented it to him wrong.  I asked him, “Hey, want to smell the worst thing ever?”  This didn’t even pique his curiosity — he said no.

Crazy-smelling ingredients aside, these pancakes are really delicious and not too sweet. Somehow the molasses is no longer offensive, and the spices are perfectly cheery.  It’s a great way to bring some Christmas festivity to your breakfast!
IMG_1928
Gingerbread Pancakes
Makes about 12 pancakes
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg
1 1/4 cups milk
1/4 cup molasses
3 tablespoons vegetable oil

Stir together flour, baking powder, soda, salt, ginger and cinnamon in a small bowl and set aside.

Beat together egg and milk in large bowl.

Stir in molasses, then oil.

Add flour mixture and stir just until combined.

Pour batter onto preheated griddle, 1/4 cup per pancake.

Cook on first side until puffed, full of bubbles and dry looking around edges.

Flip and cook second side until browned.

Full disclosure: I photographed these pancakes with a light powdering of powdered sugar because it would look so nice and snow-like.  I liked them better with a drizzle of honey.  I loved them even more with a thin layer of Cookie Butter.

IMG_1924

Merry Christmas to you all!

6 thoughts on “Gingerbread Pancakes

  1. One time on vacation when I was growing up I ordered a “Lasses Sundae”. After it came I realized that the lasses part was molasses. Not the best smelling sundae I’ve ever had in my life! But it is amazing how good it tastes in gingerbread. I just wouldn’t recommend it on ice cream.

  2. Oh yes – molasses smells nasty! It doesn’t taste very good straight out of the bottle either – which for some reason we deemed necessary to try. But in cookie form it is very tasty. Since I still have plenty left in my jar I think I will have to try these pancakes too. Thanks! I’m also trying very hard to not open my Cookie Butter because once I do I know I won’t stay out of it.

  3. Pingback: Ireland: Dublin’s Kilmainham, Guinness, and Jameson | In The Mixing Bowl

  4. Pingback: Peach Salsa Pork Roast | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

