My All-Time Trader Joe’s Favorites

I promised a while ago that I would share my crazy-love for Trader Joe’s with a list of favorite products. Here it is!

First, a love story between girl and store:

I had never been to Trader Joe’s before the nearby store opened. As a food blog reader, I knew the store had devoted fans who were in love with the store and amazing food.

I was so happy-excited when West Des Moines opened their store 2 1/2 years ago. I visited a few days after it opened, and the first meeting was a little rough. The aisles were packed with elbow-to-elbow bodies and nobody was watching where they were going because there was so much to look at! Even through the solid mass of bodies, I spotted tons that I wanted to try and grabbed peanut butter filled pretzels and almond butter. (Yum to both.)

Nowadays the crowds have mostly tamed down, and Trader Joe’s is my go-to place for fun treats and awesome kitchen staples. Seriously, every time someone mentions Trader Joe’s, I can’t help but gush.

I thought it would be best to create an award for each of my favorite products and let you know how I use some of them.

In the Frozen Foods Category……

Best-Smelling Freezer Staple:

20130319-205947.jpg

Roasted Corn

The earthy-roasty smell of this corn is incredible. The corn is sweet with a straight-off-the-grill kick that is perfect in soups like Cashew Chili or Chicken Enchilada Soup.

Best Berries:

20130416-204030.jpg

Fancy Berry Medley

I use this medley (blueberries, raspberries, blackberries) all the time! In Berry-Orange Pancakes, in smoothies, on top of oatmeal or yogurt, or as a coffee cake mix-in.

Best Companion for Mango Salsa:

chile-lime-burgersSource

Chile Lime Chicken Burgers are delicious grilled and topped with fresh and fruity mango salsa.

Honorable Mentions in the Frozen Foods Category:
French green beans (great in Zuppa Toscana!)
Chicken and Green Chile Tamales
Orange Chicken

In the Pantry Foods Category….

Easiest way to health-ify pancakes:

20120312-223606.jpg

White Whole Wheat Flour

I use this flour to replace all-purpose flour when I want to increase the nutritional benefits of a recipe, and to replace whole wheat flour when I want to keep the texture from being too dense or coarse. The result is great texture and a light whole wheat flavor! I love using this flour for oatmeal cookie pancakes and sweet potato chocolate chip pancakes. It is also great for any bread or muffins.

 

Best portion-controlled snacks:

20130416-204219.jpg

Just a Handful of Roasted Unsalted Almonds & Oh My! Omega Trek Mix

These are a pantry staple so that David and I always have a healthy, easy-to-grab snack with some protein. The Trek Mix has dried cranberries, almonds, pepitas, pistachios, walnuts, and pecans. Another great topper for yogurt or oatmeal.

Best Supplier of Pinterest Recipes:

20130416-204746.jpg

Speculoos Cookie Butter

I’m certainly not going out on a limb when I declare Cookie Butter as truly delicious. Plenty of people agree with me and helped make it the top-selling TJ’s product of 2012. Cookie Butter spreads like peanut butter or Nutella and tastes like spiced speculoos cookies. When I open the jar and take a whiff, it reminds me of Sinterklaas in the Netherlands when we snacked on spicy pepernoten and speculaas cookies. Mmmm… Here are some examples of recently pinned, drool-worthy Cookie Butter recipes:

9f4cf7a0f373934ca830436d5ecdbb16Sugar Cookie Cookie Butter Bars from Wine and Glue

bf8578e4ad94c40d750ec02856ac2246Speculoos Cookie Butter Cups from Stick Gooey Creamy Chewy

c8a80913f8f3ac7b421150e97bbeea5d

Cookie Butter Brown Sugar Streusel Bars from Averie Cooks

Honorable Mentions in the Pantry Category:

20120422-120235.jpg
Quinoa and Black Bean Infused Tortilla Chips
Cuban Style Black Beans (for this delicious black bean soup)
Organic Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup (delicious as a replacement for enchilada sauce)

In the Fridge Category….

Most Unique and Delicious Nut Butter:

20130416-204327.jpg

Sunflower Seed Butter

This is always in my fridge. My favorite oatmeal combo ever is still creamy banana oats, topped with vanilla yogurt, with a spoonful of this sunflower seed butter nestled in the middle. If you’ve visited our house in the past year, I’ve probably made you try this.

Great cheese (I’ve only tried 1% of TJ’s cheese selection so I will wait to create a more specific category):

Dutch Gouda

This is a great mild cheese. Another favorite snack — buttered bread topped with butter, raspberry jam, and slices of this Gouda cheese. Trust me, the right cheese and jelly play so well together! You can even add an over-easy egg for really sweet and savory deliciousness.

Best Dressing:

20130416-204448.jpg

Goddess Dressing

I’m not totally sure what this tastes like but there’s garlic, tahini, lemon, and soy sauce on the ingredient list. The result is a creamy, tangy and sweet dressing.

Best supporting cast of snacks that are so addictive and delicious that I rarely buy them:

20120429-201554.jpg

Mini Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
Ginger Cats Cookies for People
Crispy Crunchy Chocolate Chip Cookies
Candy Cane Joe-Joes
Sweet Potato Chips
Kettle Corn
Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels
Spinach Artichoke Dip

That’s my list! It was a little painful to leave some other much-loved products off the list. However, I hope I gave you some good ideas to take to the store!

Please share! What’s your favorite TJ’s product?

8 thoughts on “My All-Time Trader Joe’s Favorites

  1. I love this post!! I also love TJs so much! Thanks for linking my Cookie Butter Brown Sugar Streusel Bars. I co-authored a cookbook using TJs products called Easy Lunch Boxes. Like seriously, I LOVE Tjs. Too many products to even name but I adore each that you pointed out. I also use their boubon vanilla, hot pepper jelly, cinnamon, seasonal white choc chips, seasonal pumpkin pie spice, their coffees, their butter is always cheap and reliable; seriously love the place!

  2. Well you know I LOVE their kettle corn! Dad would add any and all of their salsas to your list. The frozen corn is amazing, as well as both of the “butters” you listed. This makes me want a Trader Joe’s closer to where we live!

  3. Definitely making a list. I am bringing some sopa de quinoa and mani from Bolivia. I am at the Santa Cruz airport and heading home soon. Look forward to seeing you.

  4. Pingback: Whole Wheat Banana Almond Pancakes | In The Mixing Bowl

  5. Pingback: 2013: The Stats and My Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

