Three Things + My 2006 Myspace Blog

Hello and happy Thursday!

Last week,  I was proud to still be cooking in our messy kitchen. I have to admit not a ton of cooking has been going on since then.  Kitchen is still messy, but the walls are a new oh-so-gorgeous color.  Many thanks to my mom and dad for all their help painting!

I think I’ll wait until our new floors, counter tops, and decorative details are added to share a picture.  Just a few more weeks, and the transformation will be complete.

Let’s do another round of three things.  We’ll start with food.

Three IGE recipes I loved:

Recipes from Iowa Girl Eats are just way too reliable — they always turn out great!  And so they take up a disproportionate amount of space on my Tried and Truly Tasty Pinterest board.  Here are a few that I’ve recently cooked up.

The key to this recipe is getting decent all-beef hot dogs.  I like Hebrew National.  Toasting the buns is also key.  You must make this before the summer ends!

CrockPotBreakfastCasserole_01_mini_mini

We’ve had lots of family visitors in May which is too much fun.  I also love that it gives me an excuse to test out dishes like this one.  I halved the recipe, which was plenty for four people.  Break out the crock pot!

SpicySausagePastaSkillet_13_mini

This is a simple one-dish dinner, creamy but light, zesty and filling. Great weeknight meal!

Three things to note about this drawing:

  • It is a zombie representation of David and me.  How cool is that?
  • It was drawn by my talented brother-in-law Jonathan Bates.
  • David’s shirt says “Something Irish.”  My arm is gone. Love the details.

IMG_2979

Three summer things I’m looking forward to:

  • Berry season

This week I have been cherishing every single fresh raspberry from a carton in my fridge.  Love each perfectly sweet and juicy bite.  Each year I declare I will go strawberry picking, and then somehow miss the season.  This year I really will go strawberry picking!

  • Lots of biking! 

I am planning on biking one day of RAGBRAI this year — Perry to Des Moines, 49 miles, 1308 feet to climb. Slightly intimidating but I’m excited to do lots of biking and be semi-prepared.

  • Girls weekend in eight days

I get to spend a long weekend in Minneapolis with my mom and sisters.  So pumped!  We will do all the girly things!

Three quotes from The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business
:

etc_stack12__01inline__202

This book was incredibly interesting and enjoyable.  I loved the mix of psychology and behavior study with really intense personal stories of how habits are used by companies like Target and Alcoa, and people like Michael Phelps and Tony Dungy.

I found myself telling David about more than half the things I read about, “Did you know Febreze almost failed until….and radio stations introduce new songs by….and AA is successful because?”  (If you want to know the end of those sentences, you’ll have to read the book.)

  • The habit process within our brains is a three-step loop. First, there is a cue, a trigger that tells your brain to go into automatic mode and which habit to use. Then there is the routine, which can be physical or mental or emotional. Finally, there is a reward, which helps your brain figure out if this particular loop is worth remembering for the future
  • The Golden Rule of Habit Change: You can’t extinguish a bad habit, you can only change it.
  • Champions don’t do extraordinary things. They do ordinary things, but they do them without thinking, too fast for the other team to react. They follow the habits they’ve learned.

Three songs that caught my ear:

Bastille – Pompeii

Whoooaa awesomeness.  Sorry about the weird hamster eyes in the music video.

Atlas Genius – As If

Imagine Dragons – Demons

Three things I posted forever ago on my old Myspace profile:

I started my first blog on myspace!  I did not remember this until I stalked my own myspace profile recently….probably because I only posted three times and I aimed for max silliness that can only be reached with great effort.

Sorry to Sara for calling her out for having “troubles.” I have no idea what I was talking about.  Also sorry to Lori for calling her “short but cool.”  Short AND cool would be much better.

I seriously love how the three posts capture a certain time/feeling — those first few exciting/scary weeks being a college freshman.  If you notice, my moods range from thirsty to hopeful to chipper.  Good representation of freshman year.

I’m going to include the entire wordy posts to keep the memory alive!

Subject: numero uno
6/24/2006
Mood: Thirsty

Here’s my blog premiere….I’m afraid it can only dissapoint.  Okay, maybe that was pessimistic.  I am actually pumped to start blogging.  The problem: what do I blog about?  World matters, general grievances, or recent personal victories?  What would be really fun is to make fun of all those things that make up a weird, unnecessary part of our lives.  Like Lord of the Rings and country music.  Sorry, David…if you ever read this, I’m sorry.  No, not that sorry.  There’s no room for apologies on this blog.

Well, I’ll keep thinking about future blog topics.  I’m thinking Electric Voice Phenomenon or X-Men: The Last Stand.  There’s a lot of potential right there.  Next time: I will reveal my final final final decision about what mutant power I should like to possess.  Also, I’ll finally answer Jonathan’s question as to what part of The Last Stand was my favorite.  Wow, I’m a nerd.

Subject: finalmente, numero dos
8/20/2006
Mood: Hopeful

Let it be known to all, this blog is mostly written for my older sis Lori Bates. She may be short, but she’s really cool. :) j/k
Well, I’m finally a college student. I’m collegiate. Right now, I’m sitting in my new dorm room, relaxing, listening to music, chatting with Sara, and writing this. Our room took a while to come together. Somehow, everyone was able to unpack and organize their dorm rooms way before we did. Last night, we worked on our rooms from eleven to midnight, and people would stop in and gawk at how much stuff we had laying around. I suppose we packed a lot of stuff, but I prefer to concentrate on the fact that we are uber-ready for anything. I mean, our first aid kit is massive, complete with instant ice pack and foily warming blanket. We also have a very good game collection, which is stored away, but we’ll whip em out when the time comes. Our setup is a lot of fun. It’s not very typical, which we like a lot. We’re both working out the best way to get up to our beds. For me, I have to figure out a way to climb up the side without getting major cramps in my feet. Sara, I don’t know, she just has troubles.

We’ve been very busy though. Unpacking, going around having “mandatory fun,” meeting cool people, meetings, and sleeping a little. Today, we did our first Walmart/Hyvee trip. Walmart didn’t have anything we needed because we needed the regular college stuff. Like power strips and shoe organizers. All boughten up by other students. Dar. We did get some good stuff at Hyvee…bread, peanut buttah, jelly, pop tarts, chewies. The essentials. We don’t even need to put all that stuff in our fridge because our dorm room is so cold. Somehow we had the air conditioner on high all last night. Hence, it was very hard to get out of our beds this morning because they were so warm, and the air was so frigid. We did go to church this morning…we chose a random reformed church. Second Reformed, actually. It was a very stately building with a very whitewashed inside. It was a really nice traditional service with a really good men’s chorus. The people were friendly too.

Anyway, the big purchase of the day today…..books, da, da, daaaah. evil. For four classes I dished out major bucks. Painful, but I suppose necessary. It is kind of part of this whole education thing I got myself into. I think I’ll sign off now. Forgotten things count: 2….Spanish/English Dictionary and clarinet. I guess I’m not that prepared. Excitement Level: Elevated. I’m totally not ready for this, but it’s gonna be great.

touchdown turnaround

9/1/2006
Mood: Chipper

It is finally weekend…and I have finished my first full week of college. Interestingly, I won’t have another full week for a while since next Monday is Labor Day. Long weekends are a thing of beauty. This weekend is beautiful because I get to travel to the metropolis of Ames to visit my wonderful beau, David. After two weeks of anticipation, we are finally reunited. The Apples to Apples tournament has already been planned, as well as a dinner at Hickory Park. The amusement will abound. Fun will flourish. Alliterations come alive.

Right now, Sara and I are packing while watching Moulin Rouge. Thankfully, we are fully comfortable to sing much of the movie, so it is quite fun. “It’s a little bit funny, this feeling inside” Ew, the slimy, squirrely bad guy in the movie just sang that line. A very creepy part. But I love this movie….well, I shall sign off now.

How wonderful life is, now you’re in the world…

One thought on “Three Things + My 2006 Myspace Blog

  1. Pingback: Three Things: October Edition | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

