Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip Pancakes

I ate very well Sunday morning.

Want to see?

20120311-204034.jpg

When I spotted this recipe, I was definitely drawn in by two of my favorite foods: sweet potato and chocolate. Sounds good, right?

I also liked some of the healthful components. I try not to be too black and white about calling a recipe “healthy” or “unhealthy.” Instead, I look at the components and evaluate a few things:

How much fat, sodium, sugar, calories, cholesterol, weird processed stuff?
Are there ingredients with nutrients, vitamins, or other good stuff to fuel my body?
Is there an ingredient I can easily switch out for something healthier?

20120312-233311.jpg

My thought process for these pancakes:
Sweet potatoes are great healthy vegetables.
Chocolate is pretty sugary. I kept it healthier by limiting the amount of chips I used and used dark chocolate.
White whole wheat is a great alternative to white flour.
Almond milk is so tasty, and the unsweetened version is usually very low calorie, while still offering some good calcium and nutrients.

20120312-223606.jpg

20120312-223929.jpg

With just a few teaspoons of added sugar and no oil, I was pretty happy with the overall healthfulness of these pancakes.

Oh yes, and they tasted great! Nice and thick, yet fluffy. Not too sweet but perfect topped with a little honey. Warm chocolate chips in each bite made it such a treat.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Lightly adapted from Eat, Live, Run
Makes 5 pancakes

Ingredients
1/4 cup sweet potato, baked and mashed
1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp brown sugar
1/2 cup milk
1 egg white
2 T dark chocolate chips
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Heat skillet to 375 degrees and lightly grease.
Combine all ingredients and stir until just combined.
Drop 1/4 cup mixture onto skillet and cook both sides.
Top with butter and something sweet — I used honey, but maple syrup would also be wonderful.

20120312-232638.jpg

#1 Rule of Pancake Photography: Pancakes must be photographed in delightful stacks of three with a happy pat of butter.

Yum. Healthy or not, these pancakes made a delicious and comforting meal on a quiet Sunday morning.

7 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Ice Cream with a Kick! | In The Mixing Bowl

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes with Chocolate Chips | In The Mixing Bowl

  3. Pingback: My All-Time Trader Joe’s Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

  4. Pingback: My Top Meal Prep Tips | In The Mixing Bowl

  5. Pingback: Three Things: Thanksgiving Edition | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

