Pesto Parmesan Quinoa Cups

Who loves quinoa?

I love this curlicue seed for its nutty taste and fluffy texture. Quinoa is an easy replacement for grains and pasta. This South American food also has a ton of health benefits including protein, iron, calcium, and amino acids.

This recipe makes quinoa the star in a handy and adorable “cup.” I kept the nutty taste going with two kinds of cheese. The pesto pops with flavor, and the greens keep the healthy factor going. Seriously, these are so delicious and make excellent leftovers for a packed lunch.

20120320-205515.jpg

Pesto Parmesan Quinoa Cups
Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients
2 cups cooked quinoa
2 eggs, 2 egg whites
1 cup mozzarella cheese
2 T grated Parmesan cheese
2 T prepared pesto
1 cup peas, frozen
1/2 cup spinach, chopped
Salt and pepper

Heat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray muffin tin with non-stick spray.
Combine all ingredients and fill muffin cups about halfway.
Bake 20-25 minutes or until edges are golden brown.
Let cool 5 minutes before removing.

Be sure to rinse the quinoa before cooking! I followed Ashley’s tutorial for perfectly cooked quinoa.

20120320-205150.jpg

Amy’s Final Factoid:
Quinoa comes from Quechua and was called “chisaya mama” or “mother grain” by the Incans.

Anyone have a favorite quinoa recipe to share? I would love to see it!

7 thoughts on “Pesto Parmesan Quinoa Cups

  1. Amy… I love quinoa. It was maybe my favorite soup in Bolivia. These look soooo good. I am absolutely going to try and make them when I get home.

    BTW… you do a wonderful job with this website. The pictures are always phenomenal.

    Popsi

    • Mmm will have to try making quinoa soup!

      Thanks for the kind words! 🙂 my digital camera is still working well — good hardy camera!

  2. I always crack up when we go to Casey’s Bakery. They sell quinoa and say it’s the “new super food.” I think the Quechua have been eating it for thousands of years. I guess it’s new to us. These cups look really good, and if dad doesn’t make them, I will! Thanks for giving us such great recipe ideas.

    • Haha, yes it is not really a new food…it is super! They sell for a pretty good price at Trader Joe’s…let me know if you want me to pick some up!

  3. Pingback: Pesto Quinoa Salad « In The Mixing Bowl

  4. Pingback: Quinoa Muffins | In The Mixing Bowl

  5. Pingback: Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes with Chocolate Chips | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

