It’s a Date!

Okay, so I am definitely going to understand if I need to convince some people that dates are yummy. But they are! They are naturally sweet and perfect for making these little energy-boosting snacks.

So pick up some dates next time you’re at the grocery store! I spotted my bag for $1.50 near the canned foods, next to the raisins and other dried goodies. These treats have the same ingredients as Larabars — please enjoy my version: Chocolate Laraballs.

20120128-161426.jpg

Chocolate Laraballs
14 whole, pitted dates
1/2 cup peanuts
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Dash of salt
1 & 1/2 tsp cocoa powder
1/3 cup chocolate chips

Place all ingredients except chocolate chips in food processor.
Process for a minute or two. Mixture should be well-blended but will look a little crumbly.
Add chocolate chips and pulse a few times.
Squeeze mixture into 7-8 1-inch balls. It won’t work to roll into balls so squeeze tightly in the palm of your hand.

20120128-161433.jpg

20120128-161440.jpg

20120128-161455.jpg

These are so good! Not too many added sugars in each serving, but they taste like dessert. I highly recommend using Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa. The cocoa is very rich while the dates keep it sweet. I’m thinking this will be my afternoon snack while I’m at work. They would also be great for a pre- or post-workout snack.

20120128-161551.jpg

Signing Off…

Fader” by Temper Trap is today’s song of the day. It sounds to me like Friday afternoon freedom. Woohoo! Sing along with the “woohoos,” and you’ll see what I mean!

3 thoughts on “It’s a Date!

  1. Dates don’t typically have a very good reputation, but these laraballs look pretty tempting. Now I have another recipe to try!

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Ice Cream with a Kick! | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

