Leftover BBQ Creation

I love leftovers.

Well, if the original meal was any good.

I think this leftover-loving mindset doesn’t come until you are the one responsible for cooking. Suddenly the ease of just warming up your food overcomes any deep-felt desire for a novel meal. Also, if you lovingly prepared it the first time, it gives you another chance to pat yourself on the back. Yes, this casserole does taste good…both yesterday and today.

My love for leftovers also stems from a love of saving money on food. Additional meals for no cost! Love that.

My husband is not as thrilled with leftovers. He likes new and fresh while I like old and warmed-up.

I don’t blame him as “new” and “fresh” really do sound like more thrilling adjectives.

Thankfully, all the worlds of exciting new food, ease, and thriftiness can be met with a handy technique — leftover creations.

Leftover creation process:

  • Take inventory of leftovers.
  • Take inventory of all other foods in fridge and pantry.
  • Analyze possible combinations of these two groups.
  • Create!

One of my favorite creations is super simple — leftover chili served on top of baked potatoes with a sprinkling of cheese. This probably seems like a no-brainer, but it’s enough to please me and the husby.

Yesterday’s leftover creation was also very simple and so delicious. I used pulled pork from IGE’s recipe and created this nice weekend meal for two.

BBQ Pulled Pork Quesadillas
Makes 4 quesadillas

Ingredients
about 1 cup leftover pulled pork/beef
2 T barbecue sauce
2 tsp chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (I used mostly sauce)
1 & 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup black beans
8 corn tortillas

Mix barbecue sauce and peppers/adobo sauce. If you want it to be less zippy, only use the adobo sauce and steer clear of the pepper’s seeds.
Top tortilla with 1/4 cup cheese, heaping tablespoon black beans, drizzle of sauce, 1/4 cup pulled pork, a little more cheese. Top with other tortilla.
Cook on skillet 2-3 minutes until lightly browned.

Yum. Perfectly disguised leftovers, zippy and cheesy, easy weekend meal.

Husband’s official review: “Yum-yum in my tum-tum.” I don’t blame you if you assume I’m married to Winnie the Pooh. He is awfully lovable.

Signing off…

Today’s song of the day is Joy Formidable’s “Whirring.” Life feels a little crazy in a good way as does this song.

2 thoughts on “Leftover BBQ Creation

  1. I thought your love of leftovers came from years of eating “highlights” at home growing up! I must admit, though, my leftovers probably weren’t quite as appealing as these quesadillas!

  2. Pingback: How to Save on Groceries « In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

