My Go-To Bowl of Oats

Oatmeal is my staple breakfast, and I would love to convince everyone of its wonderfulness. (Lori, I will convince you someday!)

It’s pretty easy to come up with reasons to love oatmeal: it’s warm and comforting, healthy, and versatile.

Warm and comforting: Doesn’t this look like a hug in a bowl?

20120122-183329.jpg

Versatile: You can put almost anything in oatmeal, and it will taste good. Fruit, nuts, granola, sweeteners, and cocoa powder are great. You can even make it a treat with a few chocolate chips!

Healthy: Take a look at the ingredients in Quaker Old Fashioned Oats — just oats! I love that. Oats are low sodium and have fiber-y goodness.

I usually get good recipe ideas from healthy living bloggers like Kath and Julie.

My favorite recipe is Creamy Banana Oats:
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
2/3 cup milk
1 banana, sliced

Mix oats, milk, and 1/2 of the banana slices.
Microwave for 1 and 1/2 minutes.
Stir so bananas can combine with oats.
Microwave one more minute.
Be sure to watch your bowl towards the end, the oatmeal will bubble and could spill out.
Top with remaining banana slices.

20120122-184729.jpg

My standard mix-ins are peanut butter, flax seeds, and cinnamon. I love this recipe because the bananas make the oats more creamy and whipped than instant oatmeal.

Any other oatmeal fans out there? If you’re not on board with oatmeal, please give it a try! I would love to hear if I help convert anyone!

8 thoughts on “My Go-To Bowl of Oats

  1. I notice you didn’t write you were going to convince me someday to love oatmeal. I guess I’m beyond convincing. Glad you love your oats! I’ll continue to take mine in cold cereal form.

    • Haha, I know I have a better chance with Lori because I’ve gotten her to try oatmeal once every eight years or so…

  2. It took me 50 years to appreciate oatmeal and now I love it!! I eat it every morning with cottage cheese mixed in and lately I’ve added a TBSP of chia seeds. Yum!

  3. Pingback: Frosted Oatmeal | In The Mixing Bowl

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Ice Cream with a Kick! | In The Mixing Bowl

  5. Pingback: Breakfast Quinoa with Caramelized Bananas | In The Mixing Bowl

  6. Pingback: My All-Time Trader Joe’s Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

