Blueberry Banana Bake

Be warned, this is another oatmeal recipe! I have to share it because I share what I love. I love oatmeal. I love fruit. And I loooove breakfast. This breakfast bake has the perfect amount of sweetness and a great cake-like texture — with no added sugar!
20120122-110844.jpg

20120122-111114.jpg
20120122-112659.jpg
The recipe calls for oat flour which you can easily make by processing rolled oats until fine. Keep out the food processor, and you can make flax meal as well!
20120122-111947.jpg

Blueberry Banana Bake

Adapted from the edible perspective

1 medium banana, mashed
7T oat flour
1T ground flax meal
1/3 cup blueberries
1/4 cup milk
1/2t vanilla extract
1/4t baking powder
1/2t cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Grease individual baking dish (~5cm dish)
Mash banana with fork.
Mix in other ingredients, careful not to over stir.
Spread in greased baking dish.
Bake 35 minutes or until top is set and edges are brown.
Top with nut butter (I used sunflower seed butter, and it was so good!)

20120122-110910.jpg

Baking breakfast in my own little dish feels extra special. This is a perfect comforting weekend meal. Treat yourself to blueberry banana wonderfulness!
20120122-110954.jpg

Signing off…
Today’s song of the day is Guster’s What You Wish For because I will be seeing them tomorrow with my seester! I can’t wait for Brian’s crazy bongo-playing, Adam’s cute head-bopping, and all-around fun with Lori!

Also, I have to thank Lori for supplying me with proof that I have loved cooking for a long time.

20120405-213154.jpg
Gotta start young! Thankfully, my limbs are now long enough to reach everything in the kitchen.

Have a great weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

