BBQ Cheddar Chickpea Burgers

20120423-195245.jpg

Feelings on chickpeas? They’re pretty unassuming. I can’t say I love them.

I can say I love these BBQ cheddar chickpea burgers! Chickpeas get much more exciting when you add veggies, barbecue sauce, and cheese! Also, I like a good excuse to use my food processor — my very useful birthday present from last year.

20120423-200819.jpg

These burgers are not for me and the husband…they are just for me. David does not appreciate tricky foods in the shape of other foods. Since these are beans and veggies in the shape of a burger, and yet contain no juicy beef…no dice.

I should not even get into the sweet potato black bean burger debacle of last summer.

Turns out David also has a strong opinion about loaves — directly quoted, “unless it’s bread, it should not be in loaf form.” His examples: fruitcake and meatloaf. David really really doesn’t like meatloaf. Apparently, he used the demerits of meatloaf in every speech during his high school speech class. I kind of wish I could have heard them.

In any case, I better cover my tracks… These burgers are delicious in their own way, but definitely do not taste like hamburgers! I am not trying to trick you.

20120423-200724.jpg

BBQ Cheddar Chickpea Burgers
Slightly adapted from How Sweet Eats

Ingredients
1/4 cup green onion, chopped
1/2 cup broccoli
1/2 cup carrot, chopped
1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained
1/2 cup cheddar cheese
2 T barbecue sauce
1 tsp honey
3 T flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 paprika

Pulse carrot and broccoli in food processor until finely chopped.
Add rest of ingredients to food processor and pulse until combined, not pureed.
If you have a small food processor like mine, take out broccoli and carrots, mix in bowl with rest of ingredients and process in batches.
Form four patties.
Cook on heated and greased pan, until both sides are browned and edges set (3-4 minutes).

20120423-200757.jpg

I like to make these patties during the weekend, then wrap them up uncooked for an easy weeknight meal that can be cooked and ready in five minutes. I don’t think they need to be on a bun…simply topped with barbecue sauce and pickles is delicious!

20120423-200940.jpg

Have a great rest of the week, everyone!

2 thoughts on “BBQ Cheddar Chickpea Burgers

  1. Why don’t you move to Sioux Center and open a restaurant? I would be there every day. Better yet, open a research and development business. I’ll be there to try it all. You can sub-title R&D: Recipes and Delicacies.

Leave a Reply

