Mango Salsa

Is there anything better than fresh cilantro? I use a lot of dried herbs while cooking but am a firm believer in using fresh cilantro — especially because David and I love homemade salsa!

20120422-115638.jpg

Since cilantro usually comes in big bunches, I put in a little work to keep it fresh longer. I feel like I get more use out of my purchase needing to use it all in one week (cilantro-overload!)

A few tips:
Wash and dry cilantro bunch right after getting it home. I spread out the stems on a paper towel. Remove any slimy or browning stems.
When dry, wrap the cilantro loosely in a new paper towel and place in crisper. Make sure the cilantro never gets squished by neighboring foods.
Whenever using the cilantro, remove any stems that are browning or going bad.

This may seem kind of finicky, but I think it’s worth it to have fresh cilantro in the fridge twice as long!

Another lovely food — mango! This recipe pairs mango with typical salsa flavors for a lovely fruity and zippy combo. Of course this is a perfect way to celebrate Cinco de Mayo.

Question: does anyone else crazily eat from the mango pit to make sure you get every last morsel of mango? It’s kind of like crazed beater-licking, with more slurping. Lovely, I know. 🙂

20120422-115702.jpg

Mango Salsa
Slightly adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients
1 mango, cubed
1 handful cilantro, chopped
1/2 jalapeño, diced
1/4 cup red onion, diced
1 clove minced garlic
1 lime, juiced
Salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients and serve!

Highly delicious when enjoyed with these chips!

20120422-120235.jpg

I am starting to think I need to give more fresh herbs a try. Anyone have a suggestion of where I should start? Bruschetta with fresh basil sounds pretty tempting!

4 thoughts on “Mango Salsa

  1. ahhh, the mango pit… if it is not too big, it goes in the mouth for awhile – especially if it is a red-juicy manga.

  2. The mango pit is almost as good as the chayote pit. How you girls used to love those! I love this salsa – so fresh and tasty.

  3. Pingback: Make Your Own Fresh Salsa « In The Mixing Bowl

  4. Pingback: My All-Time Trader Joe’s Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

