Make Your Own Enchilada Sauce

Recently I have come to the realization that I have a decent amount of free time. This usually comes to mind when talking to my coworker with 5 kids under 9, my other coworker with a second job, or someone else with kids’ games to go to every night.

The idea of whole weeks with no free time kind of boggles my mind.

I like my free time, and sometimes use it to make my own homemade versions of usually store-bought stuff. In other words, this recipe is not really a time-saver. It’s a lot faster to buy a can of enchilada sauce. But if you have 10 minutes, this is a great recipe which is cheaper than premade sauce and uses pretty standard pantry ingredients. You can control the salt in the sauce, add more of your favorite spices (cumin!), and make plenty for a big batch of enchiladas.

Homemade Enchilada Sauce
Adapted from Daily Garnish

Ingredients
1/4 cup canola oil
1 T flour
1.5 T chili powder
1 chicken bullion cube
1 can (6 oz) tomato paste
2 cups water
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp cumin
salt to taste

Heat oil in small saucepan.
Add flour and stir until completely combined.
Add chili powder and cook one minute.
Add rest of ingredients, stir to combine, and let cook over medium heat for a few minutes.

20120506-173016.jpg

Signing off…
Amy’s factoid of the day is courtesy of my new favorite podcast, Good Job, Brain. Doughnut holes are not the middle punched out of a doughnut. I think I had a feeling about this already but was kind of sad to find out for sure. Also, the reason doughnuts have holes is to cook more evenly without a doughy middle.

The podcast referenced a ridiculous pizza with cheeseburger sliders baked into the crust and needed to see what it looked like:

20120506-194225.jpg

Pretty much what I pictured in my head. This was just introduced by Pizza Hut in the Middle East. Kind of crazy, but I’m sure the U.S. still takes the cake for gluttonous food combos (burger with Krispy Kreme buns, fried Twinkies, etc).

What’s the most ridiculous food you’ve seen? Most ridiculous food you’ve tried?

I think fried butter at the Iowa State Fair is the most ridiculous food I’ve heard of. I like butter but would it really taste that good on its own?

I recently had the Trailer Trash burger at Zombie Burger in Des Moines. It was topped with cheese, bacon, fried pickles, and cheese curds! It was delicious, but I definitely felt a little sick afterwards… Shocker: Trashy fried foods are not good for your body! πŸ™‚

Have a great week, all!

Follow me on Pinterest!

7 thoughts on “Make Your Own Enchilada Sauce

  1. When I asked Rachel what the most ridiculous food she had ever eaten was, she didn’t have to think about it. Cuy (guinea pig) was her immediate reply. I would have to say the stomach lining soup we had once in Chiapas. It’s ridiculous how I can still remember what that was like years later.
    Your sauce looks delicious – one more thing for me to try. Thanks again for sharing.

    • Ew, stomach lining soup seems like it would be very chewy :S

      Wasn’t cuy the food that Samantha Brown hated? — when she took her trip to Peru, complete with first-class train ride to Machu Picchu

  2. I had something a few weeks ago that was sort of good – but also a bit hard to eat. In Guyana one day we had pepperpot. The sauce was tasty and the meat was fine – I was not so fond of the cow heel – just a bit too gooey. Donna… I remember the stomach lining meal as well. I seem to remember being told that the meat was optional… Iguana once was interesting… and in day or two will most likely have more whale blubber – and other assorted whale parts. I may need to try and take some of that home, maybe some will like it more than my salmon jerky. Ohhh… the worst – absolute worst – is durian. There is a reason they prohibit its consumption in hotel lobbies or on public transport…

  3. Pingback: Amy’s Enchiladas « In The Mixing Bowl

  4. I agree.. I LOVE having free time… after years of school and college plus working, it’s incredible to have down time. And cumin is my favorite spice too! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment