Peach Pie Oatmeal

How was your Memorial Day weekend? Is it already a distant memory on this Thursday evening?

My Memorial Day weekend was fun and family-filled. Family that I didn’t get to see was definitely missed — come to Des Moines soon so I can see you!

20120531-213403.jpg

My weekend highlights reel:

Singing Disney karaoke with David and my sister Rachel. Rachel and I sang Hawaiian Roller Coaster Ride from Lilo and Stitch and could not get any of the Hawaiian words right. We listened to us singing in “Squeaky” mode which made us sound like chipmunks slurring and giggling their way through the song. Hilarious.

Winning a game of Farkle with David’s family. They’re a tough bunch to beat!

Getting a very sweet goodbye hug from my nephew Tekoah and hanging out with my other nephew, 5-month old Hezekiah. So smiley! Also loved watching David grab Hezekiah every time the baby got a little fussy. David would bounce him up and down, talk to him, do anything to make him not start crying, and then pass him back to me when he was sure Hezekiah was “fixed” and not going to cry.

Running into and catching up with a friend from high school — Amy squared reunion!

Coffee at the McAlpine’s….they make it strong and delicious!

Laughing and catching up with everyone. (aww, cheesy but true)

Seeing extended family on David’s side and not being quizzed on names! I was warned it might happen…

Lastly, eating very well which led to some rediscovered food-crushes (you know, that food item that you can’t stop thinking about, drooling over, and wanting to spend all your eating moments with? Yup, that’s a food-crush.)

My mom ignited a food-crush on pie this weekend with a perfect strawberry rhubarb pie, with flaky crust and crumble topping.

My in-laws reminded me of my love for Champ ice cream cones — I didn’t even remember that I loved those!

One of these food-crushes became the inspiration for my breakfast this week.

Nope, not the delicious crunchy-topped, creamy-filled, chocolatey-bottomed ice cream cone.

Pie, welcome to breakfast-time!
20120530-065151.jpg

This oatmeal recipe is sweet like pie, but appropriate for your morning fuel. I used a tiny, very ripe peach as the fruity filling and mimicked a crumble topping with a sprinkling of granola. Lately my oats have been getting bigger and bigger dollops of peanut butter. My thinking was I wanted lots of protein to keep me full longer. Also because peanut butter is my eternal food-crush. To scale back on the peanut butter, I have started mixing a spoonful of protein-rich plain Greek yogurt into my oats instead.

In this recipe, the yogurt gives the oatmeal a nice creamy texture and subtle tang that highlights the sweet peach flavor. Add some cinnamon (because everything tastes more comforting with cinnamon), and you’re all set to enjoy a warm and delicious bowl of pie in the morning-time!

Peach Pie Oatmeal
Ingredients
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
2/3 cup milk
1 small peach, cubed
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Splash of vanilla extract
1/2 tsp honey with dollop plain Greek yogurt
OR
Dollop of flavored yogurt (peach, lemon, or vanilla would be great!)
Granola for topping

Microwave oats and milk for 1 1/2 minutes.
Add peaches and microwave another 1/2 minute.
Mix in cinnamon, vanilla, yogurt, and honey.
Top with some crunchy granola!

20120530-065504.jpg

3 thoughts on “Peach Pie Oatmeal

  1. This could be so good, if only it didn’t have oatmeal in it! We had a great weekend and can’t wait to see you again!

  2. Pingback: Frosted Oatmeal | In The Mixing Bowl

  3. Pingback: Fall Eats + White Chocolate Pumpkin Snickerdoodles | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

