Learning to love lemons

Life handed me a lemon.

Nothing too serious, just a little tart.

My husband decided he needs to watch MASH. Every single day. TV Land airs five or so episodes a day, and it’s David’s quest to watch them all as we unwind and watch TV together at night.

I am not thrilled with the development. MASH has never been my favorite show, but I’m starting to go a little crazy as the episodes run together. (They’re all kind of the same, right??)

I decided to make lemonade out of the situation — combine David’s love for MASH with my love for factoids. While we’re watching episode after episode, he can enjoy the show, and I will enjoy feeding him little tidbits of MASH trivia.

20120614-201942.jpg
Source

My only MASH factoid was getting a little stale: “The guy who plays Winchester is the voice of Cogsworth from Beauty and the Beast! And the narrator!” Okay, I still think that is awesome.

So I went to IMDB and dug up these gems.

Alan Alda is the only actor to appear in every episode.

Army boots were too loud for walking around the set so the actors wore tennis shoes in most scenes.

Big Bird on Sesame Street has a teddy bear named Radar, in honor of the character and his beloved bear. The name of Radar’s teddy bear is never revealed.

Gary Burghoff (Radar) usually hid or de-emphasized his left hand because it was slightly deformed.

Klinger was only supposed to appear in one episode, but stayed because of his character’s popularity. He often introduces himself as Maxwell Q. Klinger but it’s never explained what the “Q” stands for.

My personal favorite:
“As of November 2011, the series finale, “Goodbye Farewell, Amen,” is still the most watched television broadcast in US History. It was watched by approximately 125 million viewers. The finale aired from 8pm – 11pm on February 28, 1983. At 11:03 pm, EST, New York City public works noted the highest water usage at one given time in the City’s history. This was due to the fact that in the three minutes after the finale ended, approximately 77% of New York City flushed their toilets.”. IMDB

I like the last fact because it’s a record that will probably never will be broken. The realm of TV is so much more spread out now, so viewership for shows are much smaller. Also — toilet trivia is the best.

I can appreciate the fact that many, many people (my parents included!) loved MASH and the characters for eleven seasons. I do enjoy some of the characters, and the occasional puns are appreciated.

MASH is part of my nightly routine with David. I guess I’ll stop complaining and drink it down like a perfectly good glass of lemonade.

In other, more literal lemon news, I am THIS excited about the strawberry lemonade scones in the oven right now.

20120614-215233.jpg

I made mini versions that look so cute…I’ll let you know how they turn out!

3 thoughts on “Learning to love lemons

  1. I LOVE the MASH trivia! How fun. Dad and I couldn’t get you girls to watch MASH, but maybe the hubbies will. And the scones look heavenly!

    • The scones were good! I think you guys would like them… I thought it would be hard to get the dough right, but it wasn’t too bad. Just have to make sure you knead the dough exactly seven times! 🙂

Leave a Reply

