Making Me Happy Lately

Homemade pizza nights

20120708-095736.jpg

Yesterday we had a nice pizza dinner. I mostly followed this recipe for Waikiki Pizza, minus the bacon and onions. I made my own version of a BBQ sauce using juice saved from the can of pineapple tidbits.

Pineapple BBQ Sauce:
1/4 cup barbecue sauce
2 T reserved pineapple juice
1 tsp soy sauce
1/8 tsp ground ginger
Few grinds fresh ground pepper

We loved it! The sauce was perfectly zippy. You could definitely taste the “whole-wheatness” of the pita pocket but it was a nice sturdy crust for all the toppings.

Sparkler antics

We didn’t go to any fireworks shows but highly enjoyed playing with our sparklers.

20120708-162525.jpg

We were especially proud of spelling out a word — after many, many attempts.

20120708-162704.jpg

Shout out to Mom!

Plain yogurt

Oh my. Very much loving plain yogurt. I love the tang and lower sugar content. Also, it’s nice to make my snack more special and satisfying with mix ins like nuts, honey, cereal, and jelly.

20120708-093031.jpg

My recent favorite combo is a chocolate cranberry yogurt bowl:

plain yogurt — I used Stoneyfield Plain
Dash cocoa powder
Spoonful Smuckers sugar-free red raspberry preserves
Sprinkle dried cranberries
Just enough chocolate chips to sweeten the deal

Ikea planters

Got these back in April, now they make our porch entrance all happy-like.

20120708-100246.jpg

Sister time

Enough said. 🙂

20120708-100221.jpg

Birthday love & handmade gifts

Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes! I love all the warm fuzzy attention. Also, check out my handmade gift from David:

20120708-163313.jpg

Looking forward to getting cozy on my new chair with pillows, coffee, and a good book.

What’s making you happy lately?

Trust me, it feels good to share!

One thought on “Making Me Happy Lately

  1. Pingback: Making Me Happy Lately | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

