Too Many Bananas

Here’s some fun math for the day:

8 pounds of bananas for $0.50 in a household of 2 where 50% of the people eat bananas

I might need to go on an all-banana diet.

20120730-191504.jpg

Seriously, I got a bag of discounted bananas yesterday for 50 cents! I kind of can’t step away from a deal like that even though it means having a crazy amount of bananas in the house.

To use up my stockpile, I made a 2-part banana-rific plan. Muffins & a batch of steel cut oats.

20120730-191638.jpg

David agreed to start eating breakfast if there was OJ and banana muffins, the only way he likes the fruit. I used my banana stockpile to make him a couple dozen muffins. I used a peanut butter banana bread recipe, and oatmeal banana bread. The only changes I made were to decrease the sugar a bit in each recipe, and bake for 22-24 minutes in muffin tins. Both turned out great, and didn’t need as much sugar as stated. I will also freeze some to save for later.

20120730-191756.jpg

How to Speed-Ripen Bananas

The bananas I wanted to use were ripe with a few black spots but not quite ripe enough to make awesome, super-sweet bread. To speed along the process, I roasted the bananas on a baking sheet, peels on, in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. The peels turned black, the insides turned sweet and mushy — perfect for baking! Use this method for any yellow bananas that need to be ripened quickly.

20120730-191840.jpg

The second part of my plan was a make-ahead batch of steel cut oats.

I bought these on my first trip to Des Moines’s brand new Whole Foods Market. I need to go back for a more in-depth trip, but I loved the bulk foods section. Spices, nuts, grains, flours, granola, rice, quinoa…wow! I walked up and down the aisle for ten minutes taking it all in…I probably looked kind of weird and indecisive. Things got more weird when I got pulled into a playful argument between a couple. The guy complained to me, “She thinks I’m grumpy all the time!”

Okay, no idea how to respond to that. I’ll go back to ogling the quinoa.

Awkward conversations aside, love the bulk foods aisle. You can just grab a baggie and fill it with the exact amount you want. I will have to go back to try something new and fun. This time I just grabbed steel cut oats, which are cut instead of rolled like traditional oats. The result is an oatmeal that’s more Chewy.

20120730-193043.jpg

Sorry… chewy, not Chewy.

Because of its shape, steel cut oats take a little longer to cook. I like making a big batch that will last me 3-4 days.

How to Cook Steel Cut Oats

Ingredients
1 cup steel cut oats
2 cups milk ( I used Vanilla Almond Coconut milk)
1 cup mashed bananas (about 2 ripe bananas)
1/4 cup flaxseeds
Splashes of whatever flavor your like. I used:
1/2 tsp vanilla
Dash of almond extract
1 tsp cinnamon

Add milk and oats to medium saucepan.
Bring to a boil on high heat, then turn down to low.
Cook uncovered for 15-18 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Test oats. They should be firm but chewy.
Add bananas and flavoring. Stir and let cook a couple minutes.
Add flaxseeds and remove from heat.
Portion into 3 or 4 servings.nd

20120730-195409.jpg

This almond milk is really tasty — I am not a coconut person at all but I really like it in this recipe and in smoothies.

Okay, how excited is everyone for the Olympics?

Super excited over here. I realized that I really love watching the US win. I am guilty of sometimes feeling the need to remind people that the US is not the best at everything. (Sorry to David who bears the brunt of this annoying campaign). However, watching the US dominate events is exhilarating and just fun. Go USA!

Ready to see some gymnastics and cheer for the Fab Five tomorrow…have a great one!

One thought on “Too Many Bananas

  1. Hehe, I love the Chewy reference. Very punny. I wish we had a Whole Foods Market close by, as well as a Trader Joe’s. I’d love to ogle some quinoa now and then! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

