Homemade Sloppy Joes

Last week, David and I dined on sloppy joes.  “Dined” is too fancy, isn’t it?  We chowed down on sloppy joes.  I love that these sandwiches can be called so many different things.  If you look at the Sioux Center school lunch menu, they will always be taverns.  I’ve also heard loose meat sandwiches and maid-rites.  According to Wikipedia, they can also be called “wimpies, yip yips, slushburgers, barbecues.”

I love how passionate people are about the “right” words for things.  Of course, the right word is subjective to the user, context, region.  That’s the cool thing about language — however it is used successfully is right.  Honestly though, “yip yip” just sounds made up, doesn’t it?

After deciding on a supper of slushburgers –I kind of I like that one!– I searched for a homemade recipe.  Pioneer Woman came through.

I haven’t tried too many Pioneer Woman recipes because of a few problems:

Recipe centers around lots of meat … I don’t want to spend all our grocery money on steaks.

Recipe feeds 10 … Makes sense with a big family but I don’t like too many leftovers.

Recipe calls for too much butter.

I think Pioneer Woman should challenge Paula Deen to the Butter Queen title.  Her recipe for “The Bread” is one loaf of french bread cut in half, then spread with 2 sticks of butter, then baked.  What?  I’m sure it’s delicious but that’s so. much. butter.

Buttery sins aside, I really liked making my own sloppy joes, adapted somewhat from Pioneer Woman’s recipe.  I know I have to give more of her recipes a try, especially the desserts and Mexican dishes.

Homemade Sloppy Joes

Ingredients
1 T butter
1 lb ground beef
1/2 diced onions
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 cup ketchup
1 T mustard
3/4 cup water
1 T brown sugar
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 6 oz. can tomato paste
Few dashes Worcestershire sauce
Salt and pepper to taste

Add butter to large skillet, then add ground beef.

Brown ground beef, then drain.

Add onions and garlic and cook a few minutes until onions are soft.

Add ketchup, mustard, water, brown sugar, red pepper flakes, chili powder, tomato paste, and Worcestershire sauce.

Simmer on medium-low heat for about 15 minutes, adding salt and pepper and adjusting seasoning as desired.

Serve on toasted bun with pickles.

I highly recommend eating these on toasted buns — I loved the little crunch. And the butter, I admit.

Here’s your chance to weigh in — what is the right name?

Thanks for stopping by! Have a great night.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Sloppy Joes

  1. Where I grew up, in Illinois, yip yips was the name for this recipe. Yip yips were served at all school carnivals. So delicious. tugs at my heart strings. I am 75 now.

Leave a Reply

