Making Me Happy Lately

Happy New Year and welcome to 2013!

The last time I told you about the happy things in my life it was July.  I promise there has been happiness going on since then.

Topical trivia:

Here’s a great fact for the new year.  2013 is the first year since 1987 where all the year’s digits are different!  I like it even more because I was born in 1987.  Full-circle trivia!

Tea time with David.

Ever since our trip to Ireland, David and I have been enjoying tea together, usually on Sunday evening.  It’s a wonderful, relaxing ritual.  (PS – can you spot the pineapple?)

20121230-222422.jpg

Reading challenge:

November’s challenge to read lots of children’s books was a great time. I read Holes, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  I probably should have fit in more books considering it’s easy reading.  Maybe I’ll read a few more in the coming months.

A funny and unexpected part of the challenge was actually getting the books from the library.  I felt awkward searching around the junior’s book section where the bookshelves only came up to my chest and I was 15-20 years older than the other readers.  I didn’t realize I would be going outside my comfort zone, but I’m glad I did!

Marriage-savers:

It’s always nice to find those things that create a little more peace in your life and relationship, that ease any frustration you might feel with your spouse.

When David and I first moved into our big old house, we addressed one project right away — removing the peach tiny-flower wallpaper covering all four walls AND ceiling of our bedroom.  At first the wallpaper only came off the wall in tiny slivers.  After hours we were nowhere near finished, so frustrated, and dangerously close to taking it out on each other.  To the store we went to purchase a wallpaper steamer. The online reviews for the steamer said it was a marriage saver. David and I had to agree after we finally made progress and easily removed big panels of paper.  Ahh, bliss.

For Christmas my mom gave me something that I think will be another marriage-saver.

My own toolbox. 

I never know where David’s tools are (and he doesn’t always either) so now I have my own, stored exactly where I need them.  I already used the needlenose pliers to remove one million hairs wrapped around the bottom part of my vacuum.  Gross, I know.

20121230-222205.jpg

All the times had at Christmas:

20121230-220754.jpg

Nephew time

20121230-220835.jpg

Present time

20121230-221342.jpg

Family time. I think we were watching Duck Dynasty here.  Good show!

20121230-222021.jpg

Puppy time

20121230-220918.jpg

Picture op time

Blog-related presents:

How cute is this recipe binder? (Thanks, Lori!)

20121230-221009.jpg

I was so in love with everything about the binder that I didn’t notice this right away…it’s a mixing bowl!

20121230-221218.jpg
20121230-221255.jpg

Hope you’re having a great first day of 2013!

What’s making you happy lately?

2 thoughts on “Making Me Happy Lately

  1. Gotta love those “marriage saver” products!

    I’m happy that my son is finally over his cold and flu (but not so happy that I now have it).
    I’m happy for snow because I love going snowshoeing.
    I’m happy to go shopping this weekend for a new winter coat!

    Happy 2013.

Leave a Reply

