Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Sometimes I forget that most people don’t read as many food blogs as I do.

20130115-190946.jpg

I follow a bunch on Google Reader, star the recipes that look good, and get cooking ideas from all over the Internet. I always catch the food blog trends that are going on. Last week’s quinoa recipe is definitely part of a long-lasting “ancient grain” craze. Green monster smoothies are understandably loved by all. They really are the best.

Sometimes I steer clear of posting these trendy recipes because I’m worried you’ve already seen it a dozen times. But I really like some of them so in an effort to keep things real, I share what I enjoy!

20130115-191017.jpg

I enjoyed this pizza — made with a cauliflower crust! Maybe you’ve seen it already? It’s a tasty way to make a lower carb pizza crust with a few simple ingredients.

I would say the crust tastes pretty different than regular pizza crusts — a little more moist and nutty. And cheesy! The cheese in the crust mix is delicious. It gets a little crispy while baking…yum!

Two notes: don’t forget to grease your cookie sheet well…the cheese really wants to stick to it! Also, you’ll probably need to eat this with a fork because the crust is not super sturdy.

You can adapt the toppings to whatever you like. I opted for barbecue sauce instead of pizza sauce and used sharp cheddar, broccoli, and smoked turkey. Again, yum.

20130115-201257.jpg

20130115-201437.jpg

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Recipe from Eating Bird Food

1/2 head cauliflower (2 cups riced)

1 cup mozzarella cheese

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Pizza sauce

Toppings (pre-cooked) — I used broccoli, smoked turkey, and cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Chop cauliflower then pulse in food processor until about the texture of rice.

Microwave cauliflower for 8 minutes or until cooked.

Combine cauliflower, cheese, egg, and seasonings.

Grease cookie sheet and spread “dough” onto sheet so that it’s around 1/4 inch thick.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown.

Remove from oven and top with pizza sauce and any toppings you like.

Broil for 5 minutes, until cheese is melted.

20130115-191053.jpg

Enjoy! Pizza night sometime this week?

What foodie trends are you loving?
Greek yogurt obsession plus cake mix addiction were combined for my cupcake-for-one recipe.
Any that didn’t live up to the hype?
Tried kale chips. Didn’t get it. I’d rather mix my kale with butter and potatoes.

8 thoughts on “Cauliflower Crust Pizza

  1. I tried kale chips too. Didn’t get it either. Ew. I threw the whole batch away after forcing down a few. And I’ve seen a few recipes for cauliflower crust before, but I too, read tons and tons of food blogs. đŸ™‚ Looks good! Great job!

  2. I have seen the cauliflower crust recipe around the food blogs I read but I have yet to try it. I love getting ideas from food bloggers – I have to think less that way!

    I tried the overnight oats in a jar and it took me awhile but I really like it now.

  3. Pingback: Weekend Update | In The Mixing Bowl

  4. Pingback: Weekend of Good Eats | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

