The Time I Really Wanted a Brother

When I was in third grade, I wanted lots of things. I wanted to snack on Dunkaroos. I wanted to read Boxcar Children books all day. I wanted to spend class time playing Heads-Up-Thumbs-Up. (I kind of wanted to cheat by peeking at people’s shoes but didn’t want to get caught.) What I really, really wanted was a little brother.

Now, I’m not exactly sure why. I had two sisters who I loved (and mostly tolerated) — Lori, four years older, and Becky, two years younger. Maybe I was feeling like a little boy would balance out the female trio we had going on. Maybe I thought sisters were old news — on to the new adventure of having a brother!

My mom was pregnant that year, and I got my hopes up for that brother in a bad way. So much so that my parents started to worry about me being disappointed if it turned out to be a little baby girl.

Just four days before her own February birthday, my mom was having the baby and ready to bring our new sibling into the world. We waited to hear the news, excited to become a family of six.

It was a pink-cheeked little baby girl.

I don’t remember much about my emotional life as a third grader, but I know that my hopes for a brother were instantly forgotten. From the second I saw her, all I wanted was my beautiful little sister Rachel. That was 16 years ago, and it still chokes me up to think that getting something so different from what I wanted would be such a blessing.

Rachel has been the baby of the family since that time, and she turns 16 years old today! Even though she’s the youngest of our bunch, we have so much to learn from her kind heart and determination.

20130219-183526.jpg

Happy Birthday, Rachel! I love you so much and couldn’t be happier that you’re my (goofy) little sister.

20130219-183326.jpg

20130219-193050.jpg

Here’s a collage dedicated to our sisterhood (and many of my awkward phases).

20130219-185632.jpg

Have a wonderful week!

7 thoughts on “The Time I Really Wanted a Brother

  1. Aw, that was so sweet! We have been blessed with 4 amazing daughters. Thanks for the special things you said about Rach. Can’t wait to see you this weekend.

  2. What a nice story. Je kan nog steeds prachtig de dingen verwoorden
    Heel veel iefs van wim en irma. A little dutch. So you don,t forget

  3. Pingback: 2013: The Stats and My Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

