Crusty Black Bean-Chorizo Subs

I was sick this past weekend. Nothing major but enough to make me couch-bound during the day.

I discovered I lost my voice Saturday morning when I made a call and realized I could only talk in croaks and squeaks. I had to hang up. The person on the other end couldn’t even understand me. Kind of a hilarious, slightly embarrassing way to start the day.

I mustered the energy for a baby shower on Saturday — with some fun activities like onesie decorating, cupcake eating, and baby-making (with Play-doh, silly).

Other activities that got me off the couch: throwing away handfuls of Kleenexes, finding cough drops, and cooking meals.

20130310-214715.jpg

My inspiration for our Sunday night supper came from this Mexican cookbook from Rick Bayless. I love love love cooking Mexican food and thought his recipes might be a way to explore the cuisine even more. Look, my nails are painted – a rare occasion since I go crazy and take it off after one nail gets chipped.

20130310-214807.jpg

I was thinking this dish would be spicy and sinus-clearing. It didn’t turn out too spicy, but it was delicious. This was my first time cooking with Mexican chorizo — a spicy sausage. Chorizo is available in many grocery stores. I found mine in a refrigerated section next to tortillas.

20130310-214900.jpg

Chorizo has a high fat content which translates to a lot of splattering. Be sure to use a pan with tall sides to protect your clothes and kitchen!

Crusty Black Bean-Chorizo Subs
Adapted from Mexican Everyday by Rick Bayless

Ingredients:
2 bolillo rolls or 1 French bread loaf
4-5 ounces Mexican chorizo
1 (15 oz.) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/3 cup water
1 T olive oil
1/4 tsp garlic powder
2/3 cup mozzarella cheese
1/2 avocado, diced
Tomatillo salsa or hot sauce

Set a tall sauce pan on medium heat. Add chorizo, breaking apart and cooking on medium heat until browned and fully cooked (8-9 minutes).
Add black beans and water.
Cook an additional 10 minutes on medium heat, mashing most of the beans with a wooden spoon. Cover and reduce heat to low to keep bean mixture warm.
Heat skillet or griddle for toasting the bread.
Cut loaf in half lengthwise and use your fingers to gently hollow out some of the center.
Combine olive oil with garlic powder, then brush on the cut bread.
Place the bread cut side down on the griddle to crisp to a light golden brown, about 2 minutes.
Spread 1/2 cup bean mixture on each half. You will have about 1/2 cup left over.
Top with cheese, avocado, then salsa. If you want to melt the cheese, you can place the subs under a broiler until melted.

20130310-215945.jpg

We really enjoyed the open-faced version of this recipe. A great beginning with a new ingredient!

20130310-220226.jpg

A few recipe tips:
Making your own roasted tomatillo salsa would seriously bring this dish over-the-top-awesome. Otherwise the Mission kind I used was really good. I’ve also been enjoying it on top of scrambled eggs.

My French bread was frozen so I wrapped it up in tin foil, put it in the oven, and set the temperature to 350 degrees. The bread was fresh and ready in about twenty minutes.

You will have some leftover bread scraps from hollowing out the center. I always save bread scraps with the best intentions of making croutons. What usually happens is I sheepishly throw them away….or even more sheepishly scarf them down. This time I mixed olive oil with Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and pepper and presented David with a fancy bread and oil appetizer. Way more fun!

Have a great week everyone!

2 thoughts on “Crusty Black Bean-Chorizo Subs

  1. Yummy! I don’t cook with chorizo very often, but it has a distinct spicy flavor. I can see dad reading this recipe and thinking that I should make it soon!

Leave a Reply

