Cashew Chili

Hi everyone!

I’m stopping in to share a great soup recipe!

20130319-203017.jpg

A couple unique ingredients in this chili: raisins and cashews!

20130319-203849.jpg

Trust me, both totally work. The cashews are crunchy and provide the “meat” of this vegetarian soup. Along with the beans, they make the soup filling and substantial.

The raisins puff up, lose their wrinkles, and add a sweet component.

I loved the leftovers of this chili and portioned it out for lunches at work. A cup filled me up without making me too full and ready for nap-time. Nap-inducing lunches are brutal and the reason I never go out to eat for lunch. That and I don’t want to make my wallet sad and empty.

20130319-205947.jpg

For the frozen corn, I used delicious roasted corn, one of my essentials from Trader Joe’s. Which reminds me — I need to share my favorite products from my favoritest of all grocery stores! Soon, readers, after a selection process that I will try not to over-think.

I love Trader Joe’s.

And this soup…here’s the recipe.

Cashew Chili
Adapted from Food.com

Ingredients:
2 T olive oil
1 cup onions, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
2 garlic gloves, minced
1 (28 oz) can whole tomatoes with juice
1 (15 oz) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15oz) can tomato sauce
1 cup water
1 cup corn (fresh or frozen)
1 T chili powder, can adjust to taste
Few dashes Tabasco sauce
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp Italian seasoning (or 1 tsp each dried oregano + basil)
Black pepper, to taste
1 cup dark raisins
1 cup cashews
Salt
Monterey jack or cheddar cheese

Heat oil in large soup pot over medium heat.
Add onion, bell pepper, celery, and garlic. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are crisp-tender, about 8 minutes.
Pulse tomatoes in blender or food processor a few times.
Stir in the tomatoes, beans, tomato sauce, water, corn, chili powder, Tabasco sauce, cumin, Italian seasoning, and pepper.
Increase heat to high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Stir in raisins and continue to simmer covered for 15 minutes. Add cashews and simmer for five more minutes. Adjust salt and pepper to taste.
Top each serving with cheese.

20130319-205222.jpg

While writing this, I asked David for his input on the cashew chili. His response: “You’d be nuts not to try it.” Oh, I married a funny man.

Have a wonderful week!

3 thoughts on “Cashew Chili

  1. Pingback: My All-Time Trader Joe’s Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

  2. Pingback: My Top Meal Prep Tips | In The Mixing Bowl

  3. Pingback: 2013: The Stats and My Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

