Vegetable Noodle Stir Fry

Our kitchen is a mess.  Appliances are in awkward positions.  We tango with our washer and dryer when going to the dining room.  We have tools, nails, staples, spackle dust, and wallpaper bits everywhere.

And yet….I cooked supper for us last night!  That kind of makes me feel like a hero.

I used my Christmas present from David — my wok!

This electric wok is amazing.  You can set the exact temperature, and it heats up really quickly (less than 20 seconds).  Nothing ever sticks to it, and it cleans up like a breeze.

Now that I have the wok, I always have ingredients like this on hand:

  • Reduced sodium soy sauce
  • Chili garlic sauce
  • Sesame oil
  • Oyster sauce or fish sauce
  • Rice wine vinegar
  • Rice (make a big batch and freeze it)
  • Noodles
  • Frozen vegetables
  • Protein like eggs, chicken, and shrimp

With these ingredients, I can always scrounge up some kind of stir fry.  This makes me happy because it means an easy meal.  This also makes David happy as he loves big batches of stir fry.

I haven’t shared a stir fry recipe yet because I’ve been wanting to figure out my perfect combination.  This recipe might not be it but it’s really really delicious. It took me less than 15 minutes to put together last night, even with sandpaper and razorblades crowding my countertop (yes, dangerous and messy).

Mise en place is an important step to making a stir fry. Because the wok heats up so fast, I am sure to have all the ingredients ready to drop in.

Vegetable Noodle Sir Fry

Sauce recipe from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients

4 oz cooked whole grain spaghetti
1/2 onion, chopped
1/2 cup edamame, frozen and shelled
1 cup mixed frozen vegetables
1 tsp minced garlic or 2 cloves
1 egg, whisked with dash of sesame oil
lime, for topping
    Sauce:
1/4 cup water + 1/2 tsp chicken bullion or 1/4 cup chicken broth
3 T soy sauce
1 T chili garlic sauce
1 T peanut butter
1 T vinegar (rice wine vinegar if you have it)
1/2 tsp sesame oil
dashes of ground ginger and garlic powder

Mix sauce ingredients and microwave for 30 seconds.  Whisk to combine.

Prep the rest of your ingredients and place in bowls beside your wok or skillet.

Heat 1 tsp sesame oil in skillet set to medium high heat or wok set to 375 degrees.

Add onions and cook 1 minute, stirring occasionally.  Add frozen vegetables and cook 2 more minutes.  Add minced garlic and cook 30 seconds, stirring the whole time.

Push vegetables to the side and scramble egg in the middle.

Add cooked spaghetti and stir fry sauce and toss to combine.

Top with a little lime juice.

*I would definitely recommend the whole grain spaghetti.  The texture really works for the stir fry.

Here’s to a few more meals coming out of our messy kitchen.

I’m already dreaming of the meals coming out of our new and beautiful kitchen!

2 thoughts on “ Vegetable Noodle Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Three Things + My 2006 Myspace Blog | In The Mixing Bowl

  2. Pingback: The Kitchen Reveal | In The Mixing Bowl

Comments are closed.