Rhubarb Jam

IMG_3244

“This is my jam.”

That’s the dorky thing I always say when a really good song comes on the radio, usually when carpooling with David.  A jam is not necessarily my favorite song, but the one that makes me move my body the most.  Sometimes that means all out dancing, but only for very special songs.

For a while, my jam was Blurred Lines – like everyone else in the world.

But I have a new one — I was this close to dancing at work when I listened to it!  Karmin does their goofy thing in the music video, and I love the beatboxing.

Okay, onto food stuff.

This is my rhubarb jam.

IMG_3261

It takes 3 ingredients plus a pinch of salt…..really.

I love my mom’s blueberry rhubarb jelly so I knew this could be a winner too.  This one is perfect if you have lots of rhubarb to use up and want the simplest of recipes.

I loved how ruby-red my stash of rhubarb was — it made for beautiful jam.

IMG_3243

Rhubarb Jam
Adapted from Martha Stewart

Ingredients:
4 cups rhubarb, chopped
1 cup sugar
pinch salt
1 T lemon juice, to taste

Bring rhubarb, sugar, and 1/4 teaspoon salt to a boil in a large pot, stirring often.
Cook, stirring often, until bubbles slow, foam subsides, fruit rises to the top, and jam sticks to a wooden or metal spoon when lifted from mixture, about 10 minutes.
Stir in lemon juice to taste.
Let cool for 1 hour. Refrigerate or freeze.  If freezing, leave 1 inch of head space from container lid.

IMG_3254

I immediately taste-tested on a graham cracker….the best!  I thought the sweet and tart ratio was perfect.  You can increase or decrease the lemon or sugar depending on your preferences.

What’s your jam? (food or music)

Leave a Reply

