Three Things: Thanksgiving Edition

Hello, happy Thanksgiving week!

Is everyone ready to celebrate with friends and family?

We started Sunday night with Friendsiving.

1458682_665184917714_449635703_n

The food was stupendous and the company was equally great so it definitely put me in the mood for all things festive.

I decided to do “Three Things” again, with a few Thanksgiving categories thrown in the mix.

Three Recipes for Your Thanksgiving Day

This would be a perfect breakfast for Thanksgiving week.  The sweet potatoes make the pancakes moist and the chocolate chips are a sweet addition.

20120312-232638.jpg

This would be a nice way to pay homage to the cranberry without making cranberry sauce.  I love this flavor combo of cranberry, peanuts, popcorn, pretzels, and vanilla almond bark.

1

Some die-hard fans of the traditional green bean casserole may not like this version.  It’s a lighter take on the casserole, without cream-of-mushroom, and with a little more crunch and flavor from the fresh green beans.  I say it’s a winner!

IMG_3131

Three Google Searches that Led to My Blog

  • “recipe for mango float using speculoos cookies”

Not sure if this sounds wonderful or odd.  Both?

  • “sneeze”

It kind of blows me away when a single word Google search leads here.  I’m sure the searcher was blown away by my report on the rare genetic sneezing disorder my husband has.

  • “what’s i have planned involves three things: first, it’s gonna’ be relaxing. second, it’s gonna be enjoyable”

This search term was the biggest mystery in my life for a few weeks.  I woke up at night screaming, “What is the third thing?!” Not really, I sleep like a rock.  But I was mystified.  I VERY randomly found my answer while browsing Pinterest humor boards.  Here’s the quote if you’re curious.

Three Drool-Worthy Sweet Potato Recipes

sweet-potato-chile-mac-ck-x

The chorizo and chipotle in this recipe won me over.  I think this might be the dish that converts David to liking mac and cheese.

Curry Spiced Sweet Potatoes

Last week I had a dream that I was in a cooking competition and came up with “Shepherd’s Pie with Curry-Spiced Sweet Potatoes.”  I think I can use this recipe to realize my dream.

Joy (the Baker) describes this pie as “bright and beautifully spiced.”  Can I make a mini version just for me?

Three Ways that David and I Are Opposites

  • Meats vs. Sweets

David will always choose meat – preferably steak.  I will always choose sweet – preferably chocolate.

  • “Home Again, Home Again….”

We usually say this as we get home and we’re pulling into the garage.  David says “home again, home again lickety-split.” I say, “home again, home again jiggety-jig.”  Intense debating usually follows.

  • Snapping vs. Whistling

My whistling can be pretty spot-on – although I’m no Andrew Bird.  David’s whistling is breathy and limited to one sad note.

Confession: just today I realized the lovely coincidence that a man named Andrew Bird is a good whistler. Yikes, slow with the connection-making.

I also just recently understood the phrase “You can’t have your cake and eat it too.”  I think I never processed the phrase because every part of it sounded so mean.  Can’t eat cake?  Don’t say that.

On the other hand, when David snaps his fingers it sounds like a tree branch snapping in half.  My attempts to snap are super quiet, like tiny rain drops hitting the ground.

I think this means we are meant for each other.  David and I can respectively snap and whistle our cares away…and make fun of the other person’s attempts to snap or whistle.

Three Pancake Recipes I Loved

IMG_3879

I made these a few weeks ago.  They were really tasty although I feel like I spent an hour grating baby carrots.

I need to make these again.  The mini size makes me happy, and the cinnamon is heart-warming.

IMG_3782

Yes, peanut butter bacon pancakes.  Fry really crisp bacon, cook up the pancakes, top with honey and bananas and more peanut butter, and you have sweet-savory-umami goodness.

Three Things I’m Thankful For

  • Home
  • Health
  • Family

I am so blessed and can’t be more thankful for these three things.

Hope you have a great holiday!

2 thoughts on “Three Things: Thanksgiving Edition

  1. Pingback: 2013: The Stats and My Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

