Peach Salsa Pork Roast

This recipe was inspired by a text from my dear sister Becky.  We were texting back and forth about dessert recipes and the famous family recipe for “blood salad,” (our name for Danish dessert with stawberries and bananas.)

Becky told me she had tried a great slow cooker pork recipe — pork roast, peach pie filling, and dry onion mix.

I was quite intrigued by the fruity and easy dish.  I looked for peach pie filling on my next grocery shopping trip but didn’t see it.  While shopping at Trader Joe’s, I found a good substitute.

IMG_3945

Spicy, Smoky Peach Salsa!  If you don’t have access to Trader Joe’s, you could find another type of fruity salsa as a substitute.

I loved the result.  I kept the simple 3-ingredient concept and cooked this on Saturday.  It’s nice to have slow cooker recipes on weeknights, but if you cook them on the weekend, you can enjoy the smell and anticipation of your meal for much longer!

Here’s a link to the 7-quart Crock-Pot slow cooker I own.  It’s really reliable and moderately-priced.  It works hard for me on days that I’m feeling lazy!

IMG_3955

Peach Salsa Pork Roast

Ingredients
2-3 lbs. boneless pork shoulder roast
1 (12 oz) jar peach salsa
1 packet dry onion mix
1 T cornstarch + 1 T water

Place all in slow cooker.
Mix onion mix and salsa and lift roast to let sauce cover the bottom.
Cook on low for 4-6 hours.
Remove pork from slow cooker and shred with two forks.
Add a slurry of 1 T cornstarch and water to liquid left in slow cooker.  Cook an additional 15 minutes until sauce is thickened.  Add sauce to shredded pork, as much as desired.

IMG_3962

Seriously easy and delicious dinner!

Between a cookie swap, potlucks, and other Christmas festivities, I get lots of opportunities to bake Christmas treats this year.  I have been pinning ideas on my Christmastime Pinterest board and noticed I was gravitating towards gingerbread recipes.  I think it’s because gingerbread is the only way I use up my molasses.  Which reminds me, I need to make Gingerbread Pancakes again.

IMG_1915

Here are a few of the gingerbread recipes on my to-bake list:

Soft-Gingersnap-Cookies-with-Butterscotch-Chips-4

These Soft Gingersnaps with Butterscotch Chips are amazing! I had them at last year’s cookie swap with friends and they are incredibly soft and perfectly spiced.  I can’t wait to make them again!

IMG_0233

The combination of gingerbread and cream cheese frosting is such a no-brainer — I’m sure these bars from Lauren’s Latest would be delicious!

49fd6d67546fa6ee945ac633ace1c590

Another take on gingerbread — doughnut muffin form.  I sometimes get a little jealous of people with doughnut pans and their adorable home-baked doughnuts.  A muffin pan I do have!  I am planning to make these Gingerbread Doughnut Muffins from Annie’s Eats for a potluck at work.

What Christmas treats are you making this year?

One thought on “Peach Salsa Pork Roast

  1. Pingback: 2013: The Stats and My Favorites | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

