BBQKT Pizza

In case it’s not clear, let me explain the title:

BBQ = barbecue

K= kale

T= tomatoes

BBQKT.  It’s quite the tongue-twister and taste bud-pleaser!

IMG_4248

I saw this BBQ BLT pizza recipe on Iowa Girl Eats a few weeks ago.

I was hooked on the idea of making it because a) the pictures looked great and b) BBQ is my favorite.  I also happened to have some extra kale in my fridge after making boerenkool met worst <– best wintertime comfort food.

IMG_4227

Instead of using bacon, I used leftover shredded BBQ pork.  I think it turned out great.  I would totally make this pizza again if the stars align to fill my fridge with the perfect leftovers of BBQ, kale, and tomatoes.

I could barely contain my joy that I could chop tomatoes with my cheerful tomato knife.  Ahh, the little things.

IMG_4219

I didn’t include a pizza crust recipe.  If you want to make homemade, check out the original recipe.  Otherwise you could grab a pre-made crust or mix.

I used this Jiffy mix — nice and cheap option that turns out pretty well.

IMG_4225

IMG_4242

BBQKT Pizza

Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

pizza crust

1-2 small Roma tomatoes, chopped and de-seeded

1 cup leftover BBQ meat (chicken, pork, or beef, shredded or chopped)

2 cups kale, deveined and chopped

1/2 tsp olive oil

salt and pepper

1/3 cup BBQ sauce

1 cup mozzarella cheese

Prepare your pizza crust and preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Massage kale with olive oil, salt, and pepper in a small bowl for about 30 seconds.

Top your pizza crust, starting with BBQ sauce, then kale, tomatoes, BBQ meat, and cheese.

Cook 18-20 minutes or until cheese is golden and crust is cooked through.

  IMG_4232 IMG_4233 IMG_4235

Pizza is the best, right? Hope you give this a try.  If nothing else, I would highly recommend the olive oil-massaged kale as a topping for your next homemade pizza.

Signing off…

Here’s a fun video that I’ve been loving lately.   The 5 singers of Pentatonix go through the “Evolution of Music” and rock it.  They astound me.

If you let me geek out here, I’ll share my favorite shining moments for each singer (from top-left, clockwise):

Mitch – “I Gotta Feeling” (3:23)

Scott – “Stand by Me” (1:12)

Kirstie – “RESPECT” (1:37)

Kevin – “Baby, One More Time” and “Say My Name” (2:28)

Avi – “I Walk the Line” (0:55)

Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

