Weekend of Good Eats

Last weekend I was in the mood to spend time in the kitchen and churned out a couple winners.  I thought I’d share our weekend eats.

Friday supper:

I was a snack monster after work so I wanted to keep supper light. Also my veggie count for the day was zero so I made myself a Greeen Kale Smoothie (and a salad for David). Frozen banana, mango, kale, a couple strawberries, and vanilla almond milk — whirled around in my blender.

IMG_4296

We watched some of our favorite shows like Shark Tank and Naked and Afraid.

Are you watching Naked and Afraid?  We find it terribly fascinating.  One man, one woman, both survival experts, are dropped off in a jungle or swamp or desert for 21 days, no clothes.  No shoes!  They usually get eaten alive by bugs.  They starve and get dehydrated.  They go crazy.  In the last episode the couple got leeches constantly. Also, they do it for no money.

I think I need to write a post about how I would not win Naked and Afraid.  I probably would not compete — too afraid to be naked on TV.  And my threshold for discomfort is pretty low.  I did take the online quiz to find out my PSR (Primitive Survival Rating).  It was laughably high – 7.3.  David teases me that my score should be negative since I barely survive modern life.

While we watched I had a late night snack — vanilla ice cream topped with Honey Smacks.

Cereal and milk is good; cereal and ice cream is better!

Saturday breakfast:

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes with Chocolate Chips

20130127-193236.jpg

These pancakes just don’t get old.  I always have the ingredients for them, and I love how easy and delicious they are.  The recipe makes six small pancakes that I split it up as two breakfasts.

Saturday Lunch

Paninis are our go-to weekend lunch.  They feel more like a meal than a sandwich but they are super-easy to put together.

Here’s what we had:

Turkey Guacamole Panini
Two slices of bread, buttered
Guacamole on one slice, Miracle Whip on the other
Topped with deli turkey then grated sharp cheddar cheese
Grill both sides until browned.  Devour!

cheese

I have recently changed my cheese philosophy. I usually buy bags of pre-shredded cheese, but lately I’ve found that blocks of cheese are so much better.  The cheese melts like a dream and doesn’t have the added powdery stuff on it.  From what I’ve seen at the store, bags and blocks of cheese are usually the same price so I think I will keep grating my own.

Saturday Supper

Thai Chicken Pizza

Last week I talked about our rockin’ trip to St. Louis.  We went to California Pizza Kitchen and got three pizzas to share: Jamaican Jerk, Hawaiian Barbecue, and Thai Chicken.  We enjoyed all of them but unanimously voted Thai Chicken the most delicious.  Slightly spicy and topped with the freshest green onions… it was love.

I wanted to re-create the pizza and try my hand at homemade pizza dough.  I like homemade pizza, and I’ve used Trader Joe’s pizza crust, Jiffy boxed pizza crust mix, and made my own cauliflower crust.

I had yet to make my own yeasty pizza dough.  Iowa Girl Eats convinced me I could do it so I used her recipe.  I made sure to let the dough rise in a nice toasty spot (on top of the pre-heated oven and I put a heated pad under it to start out.

IMG_4649

I was so happy to see this sight — it rose beautifully.  I’ve had many failed attempts with yeast so this was a nice confidence boost.

IMG_4653

The pizza was more work than I expected but David and I both loved how it turned out.

IMG_4662

Thai Chicken Pizza
Adapted from the Daily Dish

Pizza crust, homemade or store-bought

Peanut Sauce:
1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
4 Tbsp teriyaki sauce
4 tbsp stir fry (or hoisin) sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
2 Tbsp granulated sugar
2 Tbsp brown sugar
4 Tbsp water
4 tsp sesame oil
2 tsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp ground ginger

Toppings:
1 small chicken breast, cooked and chopped; or 6 oz package grilled chicken strips
2/3 cup shredded mozzarella
4 green onions, sliced lengthwise into julienne and then across the julienned strips slicing the onion into 1″ “matchsticks”
1 carrot, julienned
3 Tbsp roughly chopped cilantro
2 Tbsp crushed peanuts

Prepare your pizza crust (I used this recipe.)
Prepare the peanut sauce by combining all ingredients in a food processor. Pulse a few times until combined.
Place in small saucepan over medium heat and bring to a boil. Cook for one minute and immediately remove from heat. Set aside.
Prepare the rest of your toppings. Toss half of the peanut sauce with grilled chicken.
Place the pizza crust on a pizza pan sprayed generously with non-stick spray.
Top prepared pizza crust with rest of peanut sauce leaving a 1/2 inch border. Top with green onions, carrots, chicken, cheese, cilantro, and peanuts.
Bake in oven preheated to 400 for 10-15 minutes.

IMG_4665

Sunday Lunch

For Easter lunch I made pork chops (which I way over-cooked) and these amazing twice-baked potatoes from Pioneer Woman.

Note: I fully endorse her recipes with one caveat: when possible, reduce the butter by half.

I followed her basic instructions and made a mix of butter, bacon, sour cream, sharp cheddar cheese, and green onions.  I also added a few hearty shakes of McCormick Molasses Bacon seasoning.

grillmates

This stuff is really good!  I have added it to hamburgers before, and it was a tasty addition to the twice-baked potatoes.

Sunday afternoon I decided to work on a couple dishes to freeze for later.  I’ve made the spicy minestrone soup before and loved it.  I made a batch for the freezer so we can have an easy weeknight supper.

I also wanted to make something sweet so I found this recipe for Skinny Chocolate Peanut Butter No Bake Cookies.  I added sunflower seeds, topped them with Reese’s peanut butter chips, and stuck them in the freezer for future snacking.  These taste great — a chocolatey treat without butter or a lot of added sugar.

IMG_4674

That was our weekend of good eats. Pizza, paninis, pancakes, potatoes, cookies, and smoothies — I would repeat any of these again!

Have a wonderful week, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Weekend of Good Eats

  1. … peanuts and cilantro on pizza, sounds interesring. You have amazing creativity with food, Amy. Everything always looks great and I am sure is delicious as well. Keep enjoying, sharing and … inspiring others! I’m thankful we can enjoy some dishes from time to time.

  2. Pingback: Spicy Sausage Pasta | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

