Spicy Sausage Pasta

Thank goodness for staple meals!

I love dishes that I can easily stock all the needed ingredients and whip out quickly for a weeknight meal.  Especially meals that David is always on board with like paninis, stir fry, tomato soup with grilled cheese, or this spicy sausage pasta.

IMG_5552

Ever since I first made this, David requests it often.  I’ll ask him what he wants for supper and he’ll ask “Do we have stuff for that spicy pasta dish?”  I love how happy he gets when I can tell him, “yup, we got it!”

Honestly, this dish is delicious.  It’s not super spicy — the Rotel adds some zip but it combines well with the creamy, cheesy sauce and savory sausage.  If you’re worried about the spiciness level, you can certainly get a milder version of Rotel.

IMG_5534

IMG_5528

I love love this pasta shape for this dish.  It’s a twisty, lily shape that catches all the creamy sauce.

IMG_5532

Sharp cheddar cheese gets melted into the dish and broiled on top.

FYI: I’m still a firm believer in shredding my own cheese. Freshly shredded cheese melts much better than the pre-shredded bags and tastes so so good.  My only gripe is my cheese grater is a little hard to clean.  Also I’m slightly paranoid that if I scrub it too hard, I’ll accidentally grate my fingers.  Still, I risk it for the melty-cheesy goodness.

IMG_5536

IMG_5548

Use a large oven-safe skillet if you have it, but it works fine to cook in a large saucepan or pot and then transfer to a casserole dish for broiling.

Spicy Sausage Pasta

Lightly adapted from Kevin and Amanda

1 T olive oil
1 lb. polska kielbasa sausage, sliced
1 large yellow onion, diced
14.5 oz can lower sodium chicken broth
10 oz can Rotel, Original
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tsp minced garlic
8 oz pasta (I like campanelle)
1/2 tsp each salt and pepper
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

Heat olive oil over medium high heat in oven-safe skillet or large saucepan.
Add onions and sausage and cook until onions are soft and sausage is lightly browned, about 4 minutes. Add garlic and cook an additional 30 seconds, stirring constantly.
Add the chicken broth, Rotel, heavy cream, pasta, salt, and pepper and stir.
Bring to a boil then reduce heat to medium low and cover. Simmer for about 15 minutes, until pasta is tender.
Remove from heat and stir in 1/2 cup shredded cheese. If needed, transfer to casserole dish.  Top with remaining cheese.
Broil until cheese is melted and bubbling.

IMG_5556

Hope you try this favorite dish of ours!

One thought on “Spicy Sausage Pasta

  1. Yum! I’m always nervous about grating my fingers too. Probably because I’ve done it before a few times. Or more than a few times.

Leave a Reply

