20 Week Pregnancy Update

I’ve seen this pregnancy quiz on other blogs and decided to borrow it for my own 20 week update — here it goes!

How far along?

20 weeks! Officially halfway which is mind-blowing.  We had our 20 week ultrasound appointment yesterday which went incredibly well.  More on that below!

How big is baby?

We found out at our appointment that Baby is 13 ounces.  Nice and healthy!

According to my weekly pregnancy updates, the baby should about the size of a banana.  Aww banana-baby.

This reminds me of last year when our friend Sara took fun pregnancy pics with foods that showed how big her baby was.  Months later we found out that David saw the pictures but didn’t understand why she was holding food all the time.  He thought she was about to eat that food but also wanted to take a picture and didn’t take the time to set it down?!  We laughed for a long time about the idea that she would randomly pose holding a banana.

Total weight gain/loss?

8 pounds up!  For a while I was steady at just a couple pounds gained but I’ve been doing a lot of growing in the last four weeks.  You can definitely see it by comparing the pictures below.

5

10371354_10204144993643351_7553465721923119790_n

Maternity clothes?

Maternity pants are a must, of course.  I got a good deal on dark-wash maternity jeans from Old Navy a few weeks ago.  I have a feeling I will be wearing them constantly for the rest of the pregnancy.

I also lucked out big time and got an entire maternity wardrobe from my friend and cuz Sara!  Lots of pants and shirts and sweaters to keep me clothed.  I told her I felt like a celebrity who wouldn’t have to repeat outfits ever.

Sleep?

I am a stomach-sleeper which is not really an option anymore.  I am slowly getting used to sleeping on my side but feel like I toss from one side to the other quite a few times each night.

New in the sleep department — crazy dreams!  They are seriously stressful, sometimes really scary.  They range from a killer on the loose to struggling to pack my suitcase for a trip.  All kinds of stress.

Best moment this week?

So many awesome moments this week — each time I feel a tiny kick is its own best moment.  They are still subtle but definitely coming from baby.  I love it.  I have to be quiet and still to feel them which is a good reminder to slow down and relax.  I even had David feel a couple kicks on Sunday.  He loved it too.

All-time best moment of the week was getting to see baby during our ultrasound appointment.  So adorable, so amazing to see our little baby kicking their legs and moving all around.

In the past I’ve been weirded out by other people’s ultrasound pics, but I’m obsessed with ours.  We even have a couple 3-D pics that show the cutest baby with the cutest little chin and nose.

Symptoms?

Still drinking tons of water and sniffing/sneezing off and on. I noticed my wrist was getting sore and found out that carpel tunnel can be easier to get when pregnant.

Last week, I had a leg cramp that woke me up in the middle of the night.  It hurt like crazy and I couldn’t get the muscle to relax so I got out of bed hunched over and moaning.  David woke up really quickly because he thought something terrible was happening.  He asked what was wrong, and I croaked “leg cramp.”  His emergency response and sympathy faded fast because said “oh” and went back to sleep.

Also, David used to be the gassy one in the house but I think I’ve taken over in terms of frequency and potency.  Probably TMI but it feels a little more acceptable when I can blame it on baby.  I try to convince David that it’s coming directly from the baby, but he doesn’t believe me.

Food cravings?

I’m liking more sour and tangy foods like Greek yogurt, salt and vinegar chips, sour patch kids, etc.  Grilled cheese almost always sounds good.  Eggs and apples are still awesome.

Food aversions?

Not really, I can eat anything I used to eat.

Gender?
1234242576_boy_or_girl

We found out yesterday!  Not officially announcing yet because we are telling family this weekend.  We are so thrilled!

Labor signs?

No way.

Belly button in or out?

In.  I will be very surprised if my belly button pops out.

What I miss?

Sleeping on my stomach.

What I’m looking forward to?

10 Minute Solution: Prenatal Pilates@ Home with Hilaria Baldwin: Fit Mommy-to-be Prenatal Yoga

Using my new prenatal workout videos.  I really like just going for walks with David but wanted to do a little more.  I got these two videos — prenatal yoga and pilates.  I want to maintain some strength and stamina and do exercises that may hold off some back pain.

Milestones?

Halfway point feels like a big milestone.  Feeling kicks, finding out the gender, and buying our first item for the baby.

Bump?

Yup, bumpin’ out quite a bit…and loving it!

IMG_5707

Thanks for stopping by! Have a great night.

One thought on “20 Week Pregnancy Update

  1. Pingback: 26 Week Pregnancy Update | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

