Chocolate Chip Quinoa Trail Mix Balls

Hello there! How was your weekend?

20130401-204202.jpg

I read The Defining Decade all weekend – very possibly a quarter-life crisis book. I love the topic so far, and found its insight into Facebook very interesting.

Facebook is usually touted as a way to keep in touch and find people you know. Actually it is most often used to observe others, and inevitably evaluate and compare yourself to them. Obviously this is a little dangerous, because Facebook is one big happy highlights reel. It’s the website that asks “how are you?” and really only wants a polite “I’m great — here are the pictures and smiley faces and thumbs-up to prove it!”

The mostly-positive News Feed can create feelings of not keeping up with others. Again, dangerous.

And so, in an effort to portray my weekend, here is my attempt at a well-rounded highlights reel.

The good: I loved the gorgeous weather this weekend and had some awesome down time with my husby.

The bad: I cleaned out the drain pump of our washing machine. Normally a good thing except I didn’t put the cap back on right and we had a huge gush of water on our floor.

The ugly: I did not handle the stress of that well. Sorry, David. Thankfully, we got it all cleaned up with towels and fans.

The ambitious: I cleaned, did laundry, and made a comprehensive list of all the spring cleaning we will complete in April.

The lazy: I spent a lot of time playing Candy Crush. I can’t believe how hard the levels are getting, and I’m only a fifth of the way done. But seriously, I will never spend money to advance. Holding strong!

The yummy: I shared two Scratch cupcakes with my dear friend, and they were delicious. Peanut Butter Cup and Raspberry Love.

The slightly-immature: I ate my cupcake very slowly and enjoyed the fact that I finished mine after her. I don’t think I’ve done that since I was nine!

The life-changing (for someone else): Our friends had a baby! Oh, we are excited for them, and can’t believe they’re now parents to an adorable little girl.

The romantic: Date night at the Cheesecake Factory with David. We talked about life and goals, and it struck me again that everything he does is to provide for our little family. Seriously in love with him.

The best: Easter. Christ is risen!

The nostalgic: Seeing the Ten Commandments on TV. Only watched ten minutes of the four hours. I was so surprised to find out David has not seen it. How is that possible?

I think my weekend run-down still ended up more positive, but that’s okay. It was a good-and-many-other-things weekend!

On to a tasty snack recipe!

I love recipes that combine five or more of my favorite things. There’s something to be said about simplicity, but an excess of “goodies” is fun too.

These trail mix balls are simple to make and have oats, chocolate, fruit, nuts, and a fun unexpected guest — quinoa.

Ingredients are pictured below, but chocolate chips were forgotten while photographing — what?

20130401-204649.jpg

I’m excited to freeze these for quick and easy snack.

20130401-205554.jpg

Chocolate Chip Quinoa Trail Mix Balls

Adapted slightly from Eat, Live, Run

Ingredients:

1/4 cup quinoa, rinsed
3/4 cup water
1/3 cup roasted, salted peanuts, finely chopped
1 cup old fashioned oats
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1 tbsp flax seeds
1/3 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp peanut butter
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
1/4 tsp sea salt (1/2 tsp if you use unsalted peanuts)

Combine quinoa and water in a small pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 12-15 minutes, until quinoa has absorbed all the liquid. Fluff with a fork.

Add peanuts, oats, flour, dried cranberries, flax seeds, and quinoa to large mixing bowl and mix well.

Bring honey to a simmer on the stove, stir in the vanilla extract and peanut butter, then pour on top of nuts and seeds. Mix until well combined.

Cool mixture before adding the chocolate chips and sea salt.

Mix well with your hands — be careful not to melt the chocolate chips!

Chill dough in fridge for an hour.

Wet hands and roll mixture into 1-inch balls. Place on a plate and chill for at least two hours until firm.

20130401-205237.jpg

Confession: when I was making these, I messed up the order and rolled the balls before chilling. Totally melted most of the chocolate chips. Oh well! I’m sure you will be smarter than me.

By the way, did you know Mr. Quaker of the Oats got a slimdown not too long ago? Check out the picture below. I know he’s bigger on the right but he’s definitely got a lot more chin and cheek chub going on on the left. Also someone de-poufed his hair a little.

20130401-204826.jpg

Have a great night, all!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Quinoa Trail Mix Balls

  1. Pingback: Whole Wheat Banana Almond Pancakes | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a comment