Smashed Potatoes with Chorizo and Guacamole

Mashed potatoes are good.  Smashed potatoes might be even better, especially when they’re topped with chorizo, cheese, guacamole, and fresh cilantro!

I am breaking out of my pattern of only posting breakfast recipes with this winner.

The inspiration started with a pin from my Grandma who spotted this amazing recipe:

chorizo waffle sandwich

Spiced Mini Waffle Sandwiches with Chicken Chorizo and Guacamole by Climbing Grier Mountain

I was in love with all parts of the recipe so  I grabbed chorizo and guacamole on my next grocery visit.

That week I also saw this recipe:

Crispy Smashed Potatoes on Shutterbean

I decided to combine the two recipes and sub crispy-creamy potatoes for the waffle.

Smashed Potatoes with Chorizo and Guacamole

I still need to make a waffle sandwich someday.  Ever since my sweet mom got me my waffle-maker, I’ve been totally hooked on waffle-makin’.  When I find my favorite recipe, I’ll be sure to share it.

For this recipe, you can use your favorite homemade guacamole recipe or go the lazy route like I did and buy pre-made.

IMG_4477

The chorizo is a nice zippy addition.  The patties may fall apart a bit, but your potato-chorizo-guacamole stacks will still look great.

Smashed Potatoes with Chorizo and Guacamole

Smashed Potatoes with Chorizo and Guacamole
Adapted from Shutterbean and inspired by Climbing Grier Mountain

6-7 small creamy potatoes (red or yellow)
olive oil, sea salt, pepper
1/2 pound chorizo
guacamole
cheddar cheese, about 1/2 cup
freshly chopped cilantro for garnish

Cook potatoes in boiling water until fork-tender, about 20 minutes.

Let cool slightly, then smash until about a 1/2″ thick. Place on baking sheet and lightly brush with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

Bake in 450 degree oven for 25-30 minutes.

Form chorizo into 6-7 small patties, 2-3 inches wide.  Cook both sides on medium-high heat.

Top smashed potatoes with cheddar cheese, chorizo patty, guacamole, then fresh cilantro.

Smashed Potatoes with Chorizo and Guacamole

Smashed Potatoes with Chorizo and Guacamole

Thanks for stopping by – have a good one!

3 thoughts on “Smashed Potatoes with Chorizo and Guacamole

  1. Your pictures are making my mouth water. I tried smashed potatoes once and didn’t think they were worth it. But now that I’ve seen this I may have to give them another try.

  2. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

  3. Pingback: Homemade Whole Wheat Waffles | In The Mixing Bowl

Leave a comment