Coffee Pancakes + Coconut Fruit Smoothie

Hello! How was your weekend?

My Saturday started with pancakes and biking == awesome.

I had my eye on this tempting combination of coffee pancakes for a few weeks.  I only had one packet of instant coffee so I used that plus 1 tablespoon chai latte mix.  They still turned out great, but I would love to make a really coffee-y batch sometime.

IMG_3403

My pancakes were also a little thin, but cooked well…less fluffy than other ‘cakes but still a delicious breakfast.

IMG_3416

Coffee Pancakes

Recipe from Eat, Live, Run

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup buttermilk, well shaken

1 large egg

2 tbsp instant coffee granules

1 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Combine, in a medium bowl, the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Combine, in a small bowl, the buttermilk, egg, instant coffee granules and melted butter.

Beat until well combined and coffee granules have dissolved.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.

Mix until just combined (batter will still be slightly lumpy – be sure to not overmix).

Scoop batter onto a preheated, non-stick sprayed skillet using a 1/4 cup measure.

Cook for 2 to 3 minutes per side and flip.

Serve with butter, maple syrup and more coffee.

IMG_3425

After my carb-loading, I biked along the Raccoon River Valley Trail — while enjoying the bright, sunny weather and enduring the terribly depressing latest episode of This American Life.  Being open to the good and bad in the world all at the same time makes you feel terribly alive, I suppose.

IMG_3430

IMG_3459

The rest of the day was relaxing with David and then girls night with my friend Kate.

Here are the highlights:

Free noodles and unexpectedly free giant Rice Krispie bars

East Village wandering that led to the discovery of the Arrested Development Workout Plan with exercises like The Buster Bluth One-Arm Row, The Bluth Family Chicken Dance, and the “Way to Plant, Ann” Wall Sit.

LOST viewing and realizing how many stories, plots, and characters we forgot

Hair dying – just like the good old college days

Sunday, David and I walked and walked!  It was so nice out, we took three walks totaling around 2 1/2 hours.  We have been enjoying so much outdoor time with the cooler-than-normal summer we’ve had.

We couldn’t help but talk about what a fun summer it has been…last week we went to the Adel Sweet Corn Festival, starting with a parade just a few blocks from our house.

IMG_3315

IMG_3327

IMG_3318

IMG_3335

We got free ears of sweet corn, with butter, salt, pepper, and complimentary toothpicks for the inevitable tooth-picking needed afterward.

IMG_3357

After a particularly warm Sunday afternoon walk, we decided smoothies were needed.  I wanted to try out coconut milk in my smoothie for a tropical twist.  It was so refreshing!

image

Coconut Fruit Smoothie

Serves 1

2 large handfuls spinach

1 cup strawberries

1/2 cup pineapple

1/2 cup unsweetened light coconut milk

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 cup water

Blend all ingredients until liquefied. Enjoy.

image-4

By no means pretty, but light, fruity, and refreshing.  I’m not the hugest coconut lover, but I will be making this summery drink more often.

I’m also looking forward to my next recipe:

Peanut Butter Brookies: brownie base topped with peanut butter cookie and Reese's, a perfect treat! #reeses #brownies

Peanut Butter Brookies

from Shugary Sweets

Don’t those look amazing?

Well, David and I are off for another walk…talk to you later!

One thought on “Coffee Pancakes + Coconut Fruit Smoothie

  1. We’ve been loving the cooler weather too and how nice it is to go for walks and not come home drenched in sweat! I wish we had your scenery for biking – it’s just not that picturesque here.

Leave a comment