Three Things: October Edition

Once again, it’s time for three things! (Past editions are here, here, and here as well.)

I like these posts because I can share odds and ends from my life organized in groups of three.

Here we go!

Three songs that tickle my ears:

Haim – The Wire

I never use bomb as an adjective but this song is BOMB.  I appreciate that Haim is an all-sister band.

Mowgli’s – San Francisco

I think I can forgive the gratuitous apostrophe in this band’s name because the song is so happy.  BTW, check out this adorable print on Etsy:

respect apostrophes

Eric Paslay – Friday Night

This song makes me giddy and reminds me of David.

Three quotes from Lean In:

41TknOCIZWL

  • “Done is better than perfect.”

This has been my carefully-applied mantra at work.  It is great for people who lean toward perfectionism….but still need to get things crossed off the To Do List.

  • “Success and likeability are positively correlated for men and negatively for women. When a man is successful, he is liked by both men and women. When a woman is successful, people of both genders like her less.”

This fact and the studies that back it up astounded me.  Imagine me reading, grimacing, and crying “Whyyyyy?”

  • “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?”

Always a good question.  This book made me think a lot — about my own tendencies, my view of myself, how we view men/women, and how I think about the future.  I know many people had issues with this book, but I liked reading about her experiences and the research of factors that affect women in the workplace.

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

Three things that made me LOL:

2dea53b13bd1f1d73848702db21db1a0

e447f36c3b81e785ecef5580ac63115a

MjAxMi00NTk1MzlkNWY3MDgxOGI3

Three things on my kitchen bucket list:

  • Roast a chicken.  I know this is supposed to be sooo easy but I never think to do it.  Mind you, I am not a fan of raw bird meat or bones or giblets. This Chipotle-Lime version caught my eye.
  • Perfect a few cake decorating techniques like roses.

6a00e551040fb788340147e243488e970b-500wi

  • Bake really good bread.  I’ve only made quick breads.  I fail at the yeasty kind.

Three things I can’t stop making in the kitchen:

  • Norwegian or Swedish pancakes  – I have been using this recipe.
  • Quesadillas – I like this cheeseburger version, but David and my favorite has been ground beef, Rotel, mozzarella, and cheddar cheese.

Well, I’m out of things.  Time to post and relax with the husby!

Have a great night!

2 thoughts on “Three Things: October Edition

  1. Great post, Amy! I laughed out-loud after reading the red rover quote. It reminds me of when we were in high school, we didn’t play dodge ball. It was called “kill the guy with the ball.” Seriously. We’ll have to roast a chicken together sometime. And I’m sure your cake decorating roses are amazing!

    • Thanks, Mom…the red rover one got me too, and I like the alternate name for dodge ball. Although dodge ball for me was more like “sacrifice yourself and get hit early” or “try to be invisible so you don’t get hit.” Yes, let’s roast a chicken….check out the chipotle lime one!

Leave a comment