Fall Eats + White Chocolate Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Hello!

Although I’m not ready to absorb the fact that it’s NOVEMBER, I’m starting to embrace the fall season with fun recipes. I thought I’d share what’s going on in my kitchen!

To start, here are some recipes I want to make very soon:

2 Ingredient Queso Dip from Gimme Some Oven

Reminds me of the Renes-favorite taco dip made tangier by using salsa verde. This would be a wonderful and easy holiday party recipe.

2-Ingredient Queso Dip -- ready to go in 5 minutes, and so irresistibly good! | gimmesomeoven.com #appetizer #gameday

Sweet Potato Pie Oats from Minimalist Baker

Sweet potato and oatmeal and pie for breakfast = so many wins.

HEALTHY-Sweet-Potato-Pie-Oats!-Perfectly-sweet,-spiced-and-satisfying-#vegan-#glutenfree-#sweetpotato

Pumpkin Cinnamon Streusel Pancakes from Two Peas and their Pod

All I see is streusel! But I’m sure the pumpkin* pancakes underneath are delicious as well. (*aargh, I type “pumpking” every single time!)

Pumpkin Cinnamon Streusel Pancake Recipe on twopeasandtheirpod.com The BEST pumpkin pancakes!

A couple weeks ago I conquered one of my kitchen bucket list items – roasting a whole chicken.  I followed this recipe, and it was so easy.  Handling the raw chicken did not gross me out too much, and the smell while roasting was heavenly.

Also in the past few weeks, David and I have been on a salad kick.  We keep it pretty simple with one amazing addition – homemade croutons.

I chop lettuce, spinach, cucumbers, and carrots and top with cheese, sunflower seeds, egg or turkey, dressing, and homemade croutons.  They are delicious and I think they make the salad feel more like a substantial meal.

I roughly follow this recipe from 100 Days of Real Food.  I’ve used a few different kinds of bread: whole wheat split-top bread and a big loaf of Italian bread I had stowed in the freezer.  Both worked great.

Last weekend we got a chance to visit family and my Dad had the great idea of making some granola together.  We gathered the ingredients for this Apple Spice Quinoa Granola  — so good!  It’s a breeze to put together, just some measuring and mixing and baking.

The recipe has uncooked quinoa which adds texture and “health-factor” points.

I was inspired by the success of the granola and decided to try two more recipes from Sally’s Baking Addiction:

IMG_5665

I liked the muffins, but I loved the pumpkin snickerdoodles.  I like cookie recipes like this that require chilling time because that usually means a super-soft baked cookie.  This one is just that, perfectly soft and chewy with great pumpkin flavor, fall spices, and sweet white chocolate chips.

The extra roll in cinnamon-sugar before baking doesn’t hurt either.

IMG_5659

IMG_5661

White Chocolate Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 T pumpkin puree
  • 1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon, divided
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate or white vanilla-flavored chips or chunks

Melt the butter, then whisk the butter, brown sugar, and 1/2 cup granulated sugar together until no brown sugar lumps remain.
Whisk in the vanilla extract and pumpkin until smooth and set aside.
Toss together in a large bowl: flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, 1 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.
Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix together.  The dough will be very soft. Fold in white chocolate chips.
Cover the dough and chill for 30 minutes. Chilling is mandatory.
Preheat the oven to 350F degrees.
Mix the remaining 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon in a small bowl.
Roll the chilled dough into balls, about 1.5 Tablespoons, and roll in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.
Arrange on 2 baking sheets and slightly flatten the dough balls (the cookies will only slightly spread in the oven).
Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes. The cookies will look very soft and underbaked.
Remove from the oven and press a few more white chocolate chips onto the tops, if desired.
Allow the cookies to cool for at least 10 minutes on the cookie sheets before transferring to a wire rack.

IMG_5669

Thanks for stopping by — hope you enjoyed the fall recipe round-up!

What are you baking this fall season?

Leave a comment